Jetzt kostenlos testen

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Inhaltsangabe

    For fans of The Martian, an extraordinary new thriller of the future from number-one New York Times best-selling and Pulitzer Prize-winning author John Sandford and internationally known photo-artist and science fiction aficionado Ctein.

    Over the course of 37 books, John Sandford has proven time and again his unmatchable talents for electrifying plots, rich characters, sly wit, and razor-sharp dialogue. Now, in collaboration with Ctein, he proves it all once more in a stunning new thriller, a story as audacious as it is deeply satisfying.

    The year is 2066. A Caltech intern inadvertently notices an anomaly from a space telescope - something is approaching Saturn and decelerating. Space objects don't decelerate. Spaceships do.

    A flurry of top-level government meetings produces the inescapable conclusion: Whatever built that ship is at least 100 years ahead in hard and soft technology, and whoever can get their hands on it exclusively and bring it back will have an advantage so large, no other nation can compete. A conclusion the Chinese definitely agree with when they find out.

    The race is on, and a remarkable adventure begins - an epic tale of courage, treachery, resourcefulness, secrets, surprises, and astonishing human and technological discovery, as the members of a hastily thrown-together crew find their strength and wits tested against adversaries both of this Earth and beyond. What happens is nothing like you expect - and everything you could want from one of the world's greatest masters of suspense.

    ©2015 John Sandford (P)2015 Penguin Audio

    Kritikerstimmen

    "John Sandford is an amazing, protean writer, and Saturn Run is a terrific story of alien first contact. It’s a book Michael Crichton would have enjoyed, but never could have written; he didn’t have Sandford’s gift of good humor and his uncanny ear for dialogue. With the able partnership of Ctein, it’s fast, scientifically believable, and peopled by characters who become good friends. Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up." (Stephen King)

    "Three things to know: First, I’m the world’s biggest John Sandford fan. Second: I saw this book and thought...what? Third: I needn’t have worried. It’s vintage Sandford all the way, with all his trademark strengths and insights, except set in the future, not the present. You won’t be disappointed." (Lee Child)

    "Utterly captivating! With the heart of a breakneck thriller and the mind of the best science fiction (Bradbury and Heinlein come to mind), Saturn Run keeps us enthralled from beginning to end. Sandford and Ctein have brilliantly pulled off the difficult task of making a very different world very familiar, proving that a born storyteller is a storyteller, whether he sets his books on mean streets or in deep space. I, for one, want more." (Jeffery Deaver)

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Weitere Titel des Sprechers

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu Saturn Run

    Bewertung
    Gesamt
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      34
    • 4 Sterne
      35
    • 3 Sterne
      9
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      3
    Sprecher
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      41
    • 4 Sterne
      26
    • 3 Sterne
      6
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      2
    Geschichte
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      31
    • 4 Sterne
      27
    • 3 Sterne
      12
    • 2 Sterne
      2
    • 1 Stern
      3

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Sortieren nach:
    Filtern:
    • Gesamt
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      3 out of 5 stars

    Thrilling SF book with some Hollywood mixed in

    I enjoyed listing to this very well spoken audio book over the full length.

    It is by far not the techno thriller I have expected after the description on Audible. The number and diversity of the characters really surprised me. And those are also my only complaint:
    Most of those Characters are too streamlined for my taste, like they came straight from a Hollywood action movie. Even they bring action and humor into the plot, they seem often misplaced on a mission like the one described in this book

    2 Leute fanden das hilfreich

    • Gesamt
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars

    Spannende Geschichte - interessante Entwicklung

    Die Story ist gut und spannend und hat eigentlich ein gelungenes Ende, wenn das „Amerikaner sind gut und toll und heldenhaft und sowieso überlegen“ ein bisschen weniger ausgeprägt wäre.

    1 Person fand das hilfreich

    • Gesamt
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      2 out of 5 stars

    Lower-Shelf Sci-Fi

    "So we've spent all of our research coming up with an elaborate way to cool a reactor in space. Once we figured that out we were so exhausted we kinda gave up and basically winged the rest. So anyway, here is 600 pages of how America rules and China drools. An I guess there are aliens? Dunno, we haven't thought that part trough LOL"

    2 Leute fanden das hilfreich

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    spannende und gleichzeitig realitätsnahe Fiction

    spannende Kombination aus Science und Politik im Weltraum angesiedelt, packend erzählt von einem Sprecher der stimmlich variabel und gleichzeitig gut verständlich ist, läßt uns von erneut Aufbruch in den Weltraum träumen

    2 Leute fanden das hilfreich

    • Gesamt
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Flo
    • 16.04.2016

    Boring!

    Unfortunately, this book is stultifyingly boring. I really tried to get through it since I am a big fan of John Sandford's, and I like science fiction too. But I could not even skip through it for the plot! Plus it is fill of boring stereotypes. Characters with non-Wasp names all speak with an accent. What is that about? I speak with an accent myself since I am an ex-pat, but in this performance, there is too much of ppl with accents, and the accents are poorly done too.

    I enjoyed all the "Prey" books a lot! The plots, action, and repartee were great and so enjoyable that I did not mind the male-centric, jokey sex scenes. I did not feel they were sexist-

    Anyway, I did not like Saturn Run.

    I wish i could find more books like the "Prey" series.

    5 Leute fanden das hilfreich