Regulärer Preis: 24,95 €

Details zum Angebot: Details zum Angebot:
  • 1 Hörbuch pro Monat
  • 30 Tage kostenlos testen
  • Dann 9,95 € pro Monat
  • Jederzeit kündbar
  • Unbegrenzt Audible Original Podcasts hören
ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

Number-one New York Times best seller

A Reese's Book Club + Hello Sunshine on Audible Pick

"I can't even express in words how much I love this book...the way it’s performed on Audible just took me right back to my long summers in Tennessee. This story has a special place in my heart - I didn’t want it to end." (Reese Witherspoon) 

"Painfully beautiful." (The New York Times Book Review)

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver." (Bustle)

How long can you protect your heart?

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens. 

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

©2018 Delia Owens (P)2018 Penguin Audio

Kritikerstimmen

"Narrator Cassandra Campbell serves up a bushel of Carolina accents in this debut novel by nature writer Delia Owens. Campbell's accents give the mix of classes and regions in the story the same realistic detail Owens provides for the marsh.... Prepare to be enchanted and haunted." (AudioFile)

"A lush debut; Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose." (Alexandra Fuller, author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight)  

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature.... Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders - and dangers - of her private world.” (The New York Times Book Review)

“Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on.... Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.” (People)

Hörerrezensionen

Bewertung

Gesamt

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    12
  • 4 Sterne
    1
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    1

Sprecher

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    10
  • 4 Sterne
    0
  • 3 Sterne
    1
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    0

Geschichte

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    10
  • 4 Sterne
    1
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    1
Sortieren nach:
  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M.H.
  • Linz
  • 11.11.2018

Wundervolle Reise

Ich habe jede Minute geliebt! Es war eine fantastische Reise in die Sumpflandschaft in North Carolina, wo mich Kya und die wundervolle Beschreibung der Natur komplett in ihren Bann gezogen hat.

  • Gesamt
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    1 out of 5 stars

...das Interesse verloren...

DNF bei 40 %
Eigentlich sollte man nicht rezensieren, wenn man das Buch nicht zu Ende gelesen hat. Ich tue es aber trotzdem, kann nicht anders.
Ich empfand die Geschichte als Verschwendung von Geld und vor allem ZEIT. Sie war unendllich langweilig geschrieben. Es wird eher beschrieben was sichtbar ist, also keine inneren Dialoge oder Empfindungen. Die Charaktere sind ebenso langweilig und flach, die Story ist groesstenteils unglaubwuerdig und nicht nachvollziehbar. Poesie konnte ich nirgends erkennen.
Ich frage mich, woher die sich ueberschlagenden Bewertungen auf `goodreads `kommen. Sorry, es liegt wohl an mir.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written

Good narration and the language was almost poetic. Will look for more books from this author!

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Weitere Titel des Autors