Jetzt kostenlos testen

  • The Storm Before the Storm

  • The Beginning of the End of the Roman Republic
  • Geschrieben von: Mike Duncan
  • Gesprochen von: Mike Duncan
  • Spieldauer: 10 Std. und 13 Min.
  • Ungekürztes Hörbuch
  • Kategorien: Geschichte, Antike
  • 4,9 out of 5 stars (134 Bewertungen)

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Inhaltsangabe

    The creator of the massively popular, award-winning podcast series The History of Rome brings to life the story of the tumultuous years that set the stage for the fall of the Roman Republic.

    The Roman Republic was one of the most remarkable achievements in the history of civilization. After its founding in 509 BCE, the Romans refused to allow a single leader to seize control of the state and grab absolute power. The Roman commitment to cooperative government and peaceful transfers of power was unmatched in the history of the ancient world.

    But by the year 133 BCE, the republican system was unable to cope with the vast empire Rome now ruled. Almost as soon as they had conquered the Mediterranean, Rome became engulfed in violent political conflicts and civil wars that would destroy the Republic less than a century later.

    Chronicling the years 133-80 BCE, The Storm Before the Storm is a rollicking deep dive into the bloody battles, political machinations, and human drama that defined a dangerous new political environment - a stark warning for modern listeners about what happens to a civilization driven by increasing economic inequality, political polarization, and ruthless ambition.

    PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

    ©2017 Mike Duncan (P)2017 Hachette Audio

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Weitere Titel des Autors

    Weitere Titel des Sprechers

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu The Storm Before the Storm

    Bewertung
    Gesamt
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      119
    • 4 Sterne
      12
    • 3 Sterne
      3
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Sprecher
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      105
    • 4 Sterne
      16
    • 3 Sterne
      3
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Geschichte
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      109
    • 4 Sterne
      13
    • 3 Sterne
      3
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Sortieren nach:
    Filtern:
    • Gesamt
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    Gutes Hörbuch - schlechte Audio Qualität

    Als großer Fan und treuer Hörer des "History of Rome" und "Revolutions" Podcast habe ich mir bei Audible das Hörbuch von Mike Duncan geleistet, nachdem Duncan für sein neues, zweites Buch eine längere Schaffenspause eingelegt hat.

    Mit dem Buch selbst, also Inhalt, Stil und Informationsgehalt bin ich sehr zufrieden. Es ist im Stil sehr ähnlich zu Duncan's Podcast nur eben ausführlicher. Auch die Erzählung selbst gefällt mir.

    Was mich aber sehr gestört hat, ist die - im Vergleich zu den späten Folgen des History of Rome Podcasts oder auch Duncan's Revolutions Podcast - sehr schlechte Audioqualität der Aufnahme. Warum ein Hörbuch so eine schlechte Audioqualität hat, wenn der selbst produzierte Podcast so viel besser klingt, dass leuchtet mir nicht ein! Die Stimme wirkt flach und blechern und man hört ein ständiges leichtes Rauschen. Klar, bessere Qualität kostet immer auch mehr Geld, aber das sollte einem Verlag die Mehrkosten doch Wert sein, zumal beim ersten Buch eines im Podcast Bereich so erfolgreichen Autors. Ich kann nur mit dem Kopf schütteln...

    Fazit: Für Fans von Mike Duncan oder Fans von Geschichte-Podcasts, insbesondere antiker römischer Geschichte, ein lohnendes Buch. Nur wer von der Audioqualität von Duncan's neueren Podcast Episoden verwöhnt ist, wird hier bitter enttäuscht, leider.

    1 Person fand das hilfreich

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    Concise review of the republic before its transition into the empire

    If you love your Roman history this audiobook is hard to ignore. It’s fun and entertaining and I just wish it kept on going.

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent brush up on history

    Duncan has found an excellent mixture of prose and tempo to keep this engaging and not lose one in a multitude of names, dates, and actions. There are also very good summaries along the way. His slightly slurred and fast-paced US English takes time to get used to, but it is what it is.

    On the whole this is an important, but not well-covered (at list in pop lit) piece of Roman history.

    Well done!