Jetzt kostenlos testen

The Great Poets: John Masefield

Sprecher: Ronald Pickup
Spieldauer: 1 Std. und 7 Min.

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

Im Warenkorb


John Masefield (1878–1967) was one of the most prolific, popular and successful poets of the twentieth century. Masefield broke upon Edwardian literature with the startling work entitled "The Everlasting Mercy," which described the spiritual enlightenment of a drunken poacher. Over the span of his lifetime, he was appointed Poet Laureate and amassed a large number of admirers, which included such high-profile names as John Betjeman, Robert Graves and W.B. Yeats. This collection contains 36 poems and spans Masefield's entire career. There are early poems from "Salt-Water Ballads" (1902) and "Ballads" (1903), followed by extracts from the narrative poems "The Everlasting Mercy," "Dauber" and "Reynard the Fox." The selection also includes a number of sonnets including "On Growing Old", as well as his poetry on the Romans, alongside a number of rarities.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.

Public Domain (P)2013 Naxos AudioBooks

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Weitere Titel des Autors


Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen