Jetzt kostenlos testen

Nach 30 Tagen 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen


    The Fantasy Fiction Collection contains:

    Book 1: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum, a classic adventure story that traces the adventures of a young girl named Dorothy in the magical Land of Oz, after she and her pet dog Toto are swept away from their Kansas home by a cyclone. The Library of Congress has declared it "America's greatest and best-loved home-grown fairytale” because of its references to clear American locations like Kansas and Omaha. Translated into more than 50 languages, it has become an established part of cultures around the globe. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz has seen numerous adaptations to other media like the 1939 film The Wizard of Oz, starring Judy Garland. Another popular adaptation was 1978’s The Wiz, which starred Diana Ross as Dorothy and exchanged Kansas for New York City. An important theme of the novel is that each of the characters already possessed within themselves what they had thought they lacked. 

    Book 2: Rudyard Kipling’s The Jungle Book is the story of the boy Mowgli who was raised by wolves. Set in a forest in India, the narratives have themes such as abandonment and fostering, and promotes the ideas of law, freedom, respect, and obedience. Besides Mowgli, all the characters are animals or human archetypes in animal form, like Sher Khan the huge tiger, Baloo the sleepy brown bear, Bagheera the cunning black panther, and Kaa the python. Besides Mowgli’s quest to gain the strength and wisdom needed for his fight with Shere Khan, other stories include those of Rikki-tikki-tavi the mongoose who wages war against the vicious cobras Nag and Nagaina; of Toomai, who watches the elephants dance; and of Kotick the white seal who swims in the Bering Sea. 

    Book 3: Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There (also known as Alice Through the Looking-Glass or simply Through the Looking-Glass) is a novel published 1871 by Lewis Carroll as the sequel to Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865). Alice enters a fantasy world by climbing through a mirror into a world where everything is reversed, including logic. Through the Looking-Glass includes poems like "Jabberwocky" and "The Walrus and the Carpenter".

    Book 4: The Scottish playwright and novelist J. M. Barrie (1860-1937) published Peter and Wendy in 1911. It tells the story of Peter Pan, the mischievous little boy who can fly. Peter befriends Wendy, John and Michael Darling and teaches them to fly, with a little help from fairy dust. Other characters in Peter’s world are the fairy Tinker Bell, the Lost Boys and the “dastardly’ pirate Captain Hook. Peter has a series of adventures on the island Neverland where fairies, mermaids, Native Americans and pirates live. ‘Peter and Wendy’ remains a perennial children’s favorite, and adults also love the book. 

    Book 5: Alice's Adventures Underground is the original manuscript that would eventually be published as Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. The chapters start with Alice wondering about books with no pictures or conversations, a party of wet animals on the river bank, Alice wandering in the wood and planning to enter a garden, and three gardeners painting white roses red.

    Public Domain (P)2021 Museum Audiobooks

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu The Fantasy Fiction Collection


    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen