Jetzt kostenlos testen

  • Defy or Defend

  • A Delightfully Deadly Novel
  • Geschrieben von: Gail Carriger
  • Gesprochen von: Emma Newman
  • Spieldauer: 7 Std. und 47 Min.
  • Ungekürztes Hörbuch
  • Kategorien: Liebesromane, Paranormal
  • 4,3 out of 5 stars (3 Bewertungen)

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Inhaltsangabe

    New York Times best-selling author Gail Carriger brings you a charming story of love, espionage, and Gothic makeovers set in her popular Parasolverse.

    Narrated by the wonderful Emma Newman.

    Spy...

    Dimity Plumleigh-Teignmott, code name Honey Bee, is the War Office's best and most decorative fixer. She's sweet and chipper, but oddly stealthy, and surprisingly effective given the right incentives.

    Versus knight...

    Sir Crispin Bontwee was knighted for his military service, but instead of retiring, he secretly went to work for the War Office. Mostly he enjoys his job, except when he must safeguard the Honey Bee. Neither of them are vampire experts, but when Nottingham Hive goes badly Goth, only Dimity can stop their darkness from turning bloody. And only Crispin can stop an enthusiastic Dimity from death by vampire.

    In a battle for survival (and wallpaper), Dimity must learn that not all that sparkles is good, while Cris discovers he likes honey a lot more than he thought. 

    Spinning off from the Finishing School series, featuring deadly ladies of quality, this story stands alone but chronologically follows Poison or Protect. It's Cold Comfort Farm meets Queer Eye meets What We Do In the Shadows from the author of the Parasol Protectorate books, perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Jodi Taylor, or Meljean Brook.

    Delicate sensibilities? Contains fraternizing vampires and one very curious young lady, who asks about it, sometimes in detail, but mostly in retrospect. May also involve excessive use of velvet, melodramatic poetry, and the strategic application of interpretive ballet.

    ©2020 Gail Carriger LLC (P)2020 Gail Carriger LLC

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu Defy or Defend

    Bewertung
    Gesamt
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      1
    • 4 Sterne
      2
    • 3 Sterne
      0
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Sprecher
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      3
    • 4 Sterne
      0
    • 3 Sterne
      0
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Geschichte
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      1
    • 4 Sterne
      2
    • 3 Sterne
      0
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Sortieren nach:
    Filtern:
    • Gesamt
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars

    Witty and fun Steampunk (little steam in this one)

    This book starts with a rather cute content warning, so I was already expecting it to be different to the main series it is a spin off for. I utterly loved the Finishing School series, so I definitely needed to read this, even if it was a different tone.

    And while I definitely could have done with less sex and romance, it was at least done in the typical Carriger way of being fun and entertaining, and not the cringeworthy way it is so often done, so while it didn't add to the story for me, it also didn't detract from the story.

    The plot itself definitely was as entertaining, a bit silly and much fun as I was expecting and I more or less flew through the whole book in one go. I enjoyed all the main characters, and especially enjoy the diversity Carriger likes to encompass. Vampire wanting to be a female instead of a male? Sure, dress in beautiful dresses and get compliments about just how good it suits you! And I do love that in her world so much. As this is for an adult audience we also get to see a bit of the other side, of how being judged can affect people, and I loved the balance between some serious topics and the typical joviality of her books.

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    Wunderschöne Fortführung der Finishing School Reihe

    Mir gefällt an dieser Reihe besonders, dass man die Protagonistinnen nun als erwachsene Personen kennenlernen kann und ihre Liebesgeschichten verfolgen kann. Ich freue mich sehr auf die Fortsetzungen für die anderen Protagonistinnen. Ich hoffe, Audible wird diese auch im Programm haben und ich hoffe auch, dass die Sprecherin bleibt. Ich denke, wem die Vorgänger Romane gefallen haben und auch die Romane um Lady Alexia wird diese Romane sehr mögen.