Jetzt kostenlos testen

The Worldship Humility

Autor: R. R. Haywood
Sprecher: Colin Morgan
Spieldauer: 13 Std. und 58 Min.
4.5 out of 5 stars (7 Bewertungen)

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

About the audiobook:

The Worldship Humility is the start of The Code trilogy, written exclusively for audio by sci-fi author R. R. Haywood. Narrator Colin Morgan brings the colourful characters and treacherous escapades of The Worldship Humility to life, a gripping space adventure which will appeal to fans of Ready Player One, Bladerunner and Haywood’s previous best-selling works, Extracted and The Undead

Summary:

It’s been 120 years since the 50 or so worldships containing the few million survivors set off after planet Earth was destroyed by a meteor. 

On the Worldship Humility, Sam, an Airlock Operative, is bored. Living in space should be full of adventure, except it isn’t, and he fills his time hacking 3-D movie posters. 

Petty thief Yasmine Dufont is also from the WS Humility, but she is not bored. Growing up in the Elfors, the lawless lower levels of the ship, has seen her surrounded by violence and squalor since birth, and now she wants out. She wants to escape to the luxury of the Ab-Spa on top of WS Abstinence, where they eat real food instead of rats and synth cubes. 

Meanwhile, the sleek-hulled, unmanned Gagarin has come back from punching out ahead of the fleet in the ever-continuing search for a new home. Nearly all hope is lost that a new planet will ever be found, until the Gagarin returns with a code of information that suggests a habitable planet has been found. This news should be shared with the whole fleet, but a few rogue captains want to keep the information to themselves and colonise the new planet. 

When Yasmine inadvertently steals the code, she and Sam become caught up in a dangerous game of murder, corruption, political wrangling and...porridge, with sex-addicted Detective Zhang Woo hot on their heels, his own life at risk if he fails to get the code back. 

About the author:

R. R. Haywood is the author of Amazon UK’s number one horror series The Undead, which propelled him into the top 20 best-selling Amazon authors in the UK. Haywood is a Washington Post best-selling author and both the Undead series and the Extracted trilogy are Audible best sellers. 

About the narrator:

Colin's television credits include Humans, The Living and the Dead, The Fall and Merlin. His film credits include Benjamin, The Happy Prince, Legend and Testament of Youth. Theatre credits include Translations (The National Theatre); Gloria (Hampstead Theatre); Mojo (Harold Pinter Theatre); The Tempest (Shakespeare's Globe); Our Private Life (Royal Court); A Prayer for My Daughter and All About My Mother (The Old Vic). 

©2019 R. R. Haywood (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Weitere Titel des Sprechers

Hörerrezensionen

Bewertung

Gesamt

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    6
  • 4 Sterne
    0
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    1

Sprecher

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    6
  • 4 Sterne
    0
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    0

Geschichte

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    6
  • 4 Sterne
    0
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    1

Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Sortieren nach:
Filtern:
  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Einfach wow!

Zuerst sei gesagt, ich bin ein Fan von Colin Morgan. Das war auch der Grund, warum ich dieses Buch als mein erstes Audible Buch ausgesucht habe.

Was soll ich sagen, ich bin nicht enttäuscht worden.

Die Geschichte ist etwas für Menschen, die den Kopf in den Wolken haben und auf spannende Krimi-Thriller stehen. Ein paar Twists und Turns, mit Charakteren, die man einfach mögen muss, oder in einigen Fällen eben nicht, und einem Ende, das auf mehr hoffen lässt. Natürlich verrate ich an dieser Stelle nicht zu viel ;)

Zu Colin Morgan kann ich nur sagen, einfach wow! Seine Stimme ist perfekt zum vorlesen und sein Akzent ist, zumindest für mich, einfach unwiderstehlich. Er haucht den Figuren Leben und Authentizität ein und schafft es tatsächlich, dass die ein oder andere Figur klingt wie aus einem Monty Python Film.

Ich gebe ganz klar eine Hörempfehlung und hoffe inständig, dass es noch mehr aus dieser Reihe zu hören gibt und das dies nicht das letzte Buch war, das Colin Morgan spricht.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

Hello everyoen!
I am from Germany and have never written a review before, but now I just have to !  I need to improve my English and thought to myself, hey, why not with an audiobook?!  First of all I have to say that I read a lot (since 20 years only Fantasy and Scince fiction) and my favorite author is Pratchett, so I'm very much influenced as far as the writing style is concerned.  On my long odyssey through the author universe, searching for equal value, I found some really good authors anyway.  Now R.R. Haywood is definitely one of them !  I chose this book because I thought: English - good , Scince fiction - very good , spoken by Colin Morgan - ha , I know him and like his voice ( also his work as an actor ) - wonderful , bought !  And WOW , what a stroke of luck !!  The book is very exciting, has an really nice humor (ironiy, sarcasm? all of it!), and it is really excellent spoken!  The whole team has done so much of good work here, bravo !!  I think the people in the tram thought I am crazy, when I was at the scene where Jasmin saves Sam from the angry husband and he can't stop saying : " I didn't see her vagina!"  and I laugh loud and lustily and couldn't stop!  😂🤣😅😎 Now it's time to wait, wait, wait until the next part is released, and hopefully again by the same team and with the same speaker (PLEASE) ! And although I have never heard the word 'fuck' as often as in this book, but I would like to say it exactly with this: FUCKING real good work!!