Jetzt kostenlos testen

The Stranger Diaries

Spieldauer: 10 Std. und 32 Min.

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

Beschreibung von Audible

Elly Griffiths’s knockout novel begins with a story-within-a-story: a hair-raising reading from “The Stranger,” a ghost story by the mysterious author R. M. Holland. Cut to the present day, where English teacher Clare Cassidy works in a school set in Holland’s former house—and where the murder of Clare’s best friend appears to be a perplexing case of life imitating art. I don’t know what it is about books-about-books, but I always find them irresistible, even when they aren’t as brilliantly executed as this one! So it was a pleasure to find an exquisite homage to Wilkie Collins and M. R. James wrapped up in a twisty contemporary plot and told via alternating points of view. My favorite character might have been the queer Sikh detective Harbinder Kaur, but the expert narration from four different performers made each perspective a treat to hear, while the mystery kept me guessing throughout. Immersive and sure-footed, The Stranger Diaries, like all great ghost stories, delights in casting a spell—and listeners will be just as delighted.
Kat J., Audible Editor 

Inhaltsangabe

From the author of the beloved Ruth Galloway series, a modern Gothic mystery for fans of The Magpie Murders and The Lake House

Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school English teacher specializing in the Gothic writer R. M. Holland, she teaches a course on it every year. But when one of Clare’s colleagues and closest friends is found dead, with a line from R. M. Holland’s most famous story, “The Stranger”, left by her body, Clare is horrified to see her life collide with the story lines of her favorite literature.

©2018 Elly Griffiths (P)2018 Recorded Books

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Hörerrezensionen

Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen