Kostenlos im Probemonat

Streame eine vielfältige Auswahl an Hörbüchern, Kinderhörspielen und Original Podcasts.
Wähle monatlich einen Titel aus dem Gesamtkatalog und behalte ihn.
9,95 € pro Monat nach 30 Tagen. Flexibel pausieren oder jederzeit kündigen.
The Poet X Titelbild

The Poet X

Von: Elizabeth Acevedo
Gesprochen von: Elizabeth Acevedo
0,00 € - kostenlos hören

9,95 € pro Monat nach 30 Tagen. Jederzeit kündbar.

Für 19,95 € kaufen

Für 19,95 € kaufen

Kauf durchführen mit: Zahlungsmittel endet auf
Bei Abschluss deiner Bestellung erklärst du dich mit unseren AGB einverstanden. Bitte lese auch unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unsere Erklärungen zu Cookies und zu Internetwerbung.
Amazon Prime und Audible Logo

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Inhaltsangabe

    Don't miss this acclaimed audiobook, read by the author-winner of an Odyssey Honor and an AudioFile Earphones Award winner!

    The Poet X is also the winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award.

    Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

    Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

    But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers - especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, whom her family can never know about.

    With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

    Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

    "Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." (Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

    “An incredibly potent debut.” (Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award finalist Ghost)

    “Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” (Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street)

    This young adult novel, a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List, is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades six to eight, in the classroom or for homeschooling.

    Plus don't miss Elizabeth Acevedo's With the Fire on High and Clap When You Land

    ©2018 Elizabeth Acevedo (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

    Kritikerstimmen

    "An incredibly potent debut." (Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award finalist, Ghost)

    "Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." (Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street)

    "The author's passion and pacing unite in her rhythmic reading of linked free-verse poems telling the story of Xiomara Barista. The author, a performance poet, and her heroine possess a gift for arranging words, sequencing sounds, and enriching both with emotions.... The subject, tone, form, and expression of this audiobook are diverse and poignant." (AudioFile)

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu The Poet X

    Nur Nutzer, die den Titel gehört haben, können Rezensionen abgeben.
    Gesamt
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      26
    • 4 Sterne
      9
    • 3 Sterne
      2
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Sprecher
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      32
    • 4 Sterne
      1
    • 3 Sterne
      0
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Geschichte
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      20
    • 4 Sterne
      10
    • 3 Sterne
      3
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen