Jetzt kostenlos testen

Precious You

A Novel
Spieldauer: 11 Std. und 23 Min.

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

 An obsessive power struggle between an editor and her millennial intern turns dangerous in this debut psychological thriller—for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and You.“Hypnotic...an addictive thriller." (People)

Trusting you was my first mistake.

To Katherine, 24-year-old Lily Lunt is a typical “snowflake.” It seems like the privileged, politically correct millennial will do whatever she can to make it big as a writer, including leveraging her family’s connections. To Lily, Katherine Ross, a career woman in her early 40s, is a holdover from another era: clueless, old-fashioned, and perfectly happy to build her success on the backs of her unpaid interns. 

When Lily is hired as the new intern at the magazine where Katherine is editor in chief, her arrival threatens the very foundation of the self-serving little world that Katherine has built. She finds herself obsessively drawn to Lily, who seems to be a cruel reminder of the beauty and potential she once had - things Lily uses against Katherine as she slowly begins to undermine her, sabotaging her work and turning the magazine’s new publisher against her. Is Katherine being paranoid? Or is Lily seeking to systematically destroy her life? As Katherine tries to fight back, a toxic generational divide turns explosive and long-buried secrets are exposed - with deadly consequences for both....

Gripping and provocative, Precious You delivers an unsettling, provocative take on the contemporary workplace, turning the professional roles women play on their heads in a razor-sharp, revenge-driven thriller for our age.

Praise for Precious You

“Breathtaking. A brilliant, butt-kicking romp through the Gen X/Millennial clash and the horrors of cutthroat corporate life. I couldn't put it down.” (Alex Marwood, Edgar Award-winning author of The Wicked Girls)

“What a wild ride. I’m obsessed with it! I felt so seen, so many times. This book, while so twisted and dark, will resonate with many, many women.” (Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of Last Girl Lied To)

“An intergenerational clash between two women, played out to a shocking finale. Nail-biting.” (Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange)

©2020 Helen Monks Takhar (P)2020 Random House Audio

Kritikerstimmen

“A deliciously dark, addictive, and twisted page-turner.” (Alice Feeney, New York Times best-selling author of Sometimes I Lie)

Precious You is an incredibly addictive thriller that examines women in the workplace, ageism, and the clash of generations. It’s creepy and unnerving, with observations that are often dead-on. A breathtaking debut by Helen Monks Takhar.” (Samantha Downing, internationally best-selling author of My Lovely Wife)

“Monks Takhar tackles workplace dynamics, aging, feminism, mental illness, and the hotly debated generation gap, all within the framework of a tightly plotted revenge thriller. . . . Readers won’t be able to tear their eyes away as this runaway train inevitably derails. A wickedly sharp first novel from an author to watch.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review)

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Das sagen andere Hörer zu Precious You

Bewertung

Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen