Regulärer Preis: 43,95 €

Details zum Angebot: Details zum Angebot:
  • 1 Hörbuch pro Monat
  • 30 Tage kostenlos testen
  • Dann 9,95 € pro Monat
  • Jederzeit kündbar
  • Unbegrenzt Audible Original Podcasts hören
ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

"Real science in Science Fiction. This is a must read for fans of SF." >(John S. Gertsch, Amazon Reviewer)

Perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton, Iain M. Banks, and Orson Scott Card, Fear the Sky is a hard-hitting sci-fi thriller that will have you looking at the stars in a different way.

In eleven years' time, a million members of an alien race will arrive at Earth. Years before they enter orbit, their approach will be announced by the flare of a thousand flames in the sky, their ships' huge engines burning hard to slow them from the vast speeds needed to cross interstellar space. These foreboding lights will shine in our night sky like new stars, getting ever brighter until they outshine even the sun, casting ominous shadows and banishing the night until they suddenly blink out. Their technology is vastly superior to ours, and they know they cannot possibly lose the coming conflict. But they, like us, have found no answer to the destructive force of the atom, and they have no intention of facing the onslaught of our primitive nuclear arsenal or the devastation it would wreak on the planet they crave. So they have flung out an advance party in front of them, hidden within one of the countless asteroids randomly roaming the void. They do not want us, they want our planet. Their Agents are arriving.

©2014 Stephen Moss (P)2015 Podium Publishing

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Weitere Titel des Sprechers

Hörerrezensionen

Bewertung

Gesamt

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    180
  • 4 Sterne
    84
  • 3 Sterne
    22
  • 2 Sterne
    7
  • 1 Stern
    1

Sprecher

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    208
  • 4 Sterne
    61
  • 3 Sterne
    8
  • 2 Sterne
    2
  • 1 Stern
    0

Geschichte

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    153
  • 4 Sterne
    86
  • 3 Sterne
    24
  • 2 Sterne
    12
  • 1 Stern
    2
Sortieren nach:
  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nihaki
  • Trondheim, Norway
  • 07.04.2016

Pure mental masturbation

Moss is a master chef who serves a perfectly balanced dish of geeky details and mind numbing action. This is what science fiction is all about.
Bray's performance is impeccable. He deftly handles the many accents of the various characters, and excellently employs tempo shifts during the books many nerve wrenching sequences. You can tell he loves what he reads.

Listening to this audio book resulted in a speeding ticket, involuntary shoplifting, and a missed flight. Totally worth it.

3 von 3 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich

  • Gesamt
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    3 out of 5 stars

Perry Rhodan meets the 6 Million Dollar Man

...using the general story line of Cixin Liu's "The Three Body Problem" as well as the sequel "The Dark Forest"
Moss generally does a good job, but somehow this book (and it's sequels) comes across as a somewhat thin soup.
Where Liu really wades throug deep scientific waters, Moss stays at the surface of it all.
Liu's view of the sociological and economical impact of such a threat as pictured here is much more elaborate, again Moss stays a the surface.
It is like, well, every time you expect, he is gaining some depth, he trails of.. and starts the action.
He uses the story line (10 years where Liu covers 450 years!), to walk along just to place his favorites (Action) here and there and uses the rest to plot along.
And so generally this book and it's brethrens lack some depth.
Logical glitches, sometimes long stretching, slowly passages (Which are not bad because they are slowly but because they are.. hmm.. like molasses), ravaging action and overly detailed when it comes to action (fighting, may it be a dog fight between two, or mass mitlitary confrontations) makes listening to this/these book(s) somewhat painfull.
Especially the logical flaws sometimes really hurt.
There are a lot of characters, somehow none of them really gets three dimensional.
It IS a book, which keeps you listening, anyway, so not totaly bad.
But as with any thin soup, one is not really satisfied.
The reader, Mr. Bray, does a quite good job, but does not distinguish himself from the lot of readers I have heard so far.
So, this is fun to hear, but not satisfying in the end.
I listend to Lius Books two times now, it may come to a third time or more, but i have no desire to repeat that with these books:
See my comment on "Fear the Future"

3 von 4 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich

  • Gesamt
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    4 out of 5 stars

Langatmig

Eigentlich eine gute Geschichte aber der Autor schweift immer wieder in nicht enden wollenden Detailbeschreibungen ab, die das Hörvergnügen arg beeinträchtigen. Schade.

6 von 9 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich

  • Gesamt
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    3 out of 5 stars
  • w4
  • 25.02.2018

Hollywood-Popcorn-Kino in Hörbuchform

Ein passabler Gegenwarts-Invasions-Action-SciFi, geschrieben von einem offensichtlich militär- und waffenverrücktem Autor und vorgetragen wie die Moderation eines American-Football-Spiels. Fehlt nur noch ein zweiter Vorleser, der ab und zu reinhaut "Well, Neil surely hadn't accounted for THAT one, hadn't he? HAHAHA!". Natürlich hauen Autor wie Leser nur so um sich mit internationalen Stereotypen. Irgendwo ist das alles aber trotzdem nicht wirklich ärgerlich und sogar etwas unterhaltsam.

  • Gesamt
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    4 out of 5 stars

Catching up speed slowly ...

After the first three hours, I asked myself if it was a fault, purchasing this book.
It didn't grab me, was almost boring.

But then it slowly started to catch up speed.
At the end, it had a really breathtaking pace.

It wasn't a fault, purchasing this book.

  • Gesamt
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    1 out of 5 stars

Don't buy

The narrator did a great job overall, but made some strange choices, for example giving French people an accent when they speak among themselves.

The book is terrible, and I honestly can't figure out why I suffered through all of it. Characters are flat, and the interesting hard sci-fy setup gets demolished by the authors lack of understanding of about every single thing (be it techical, scientific or political) he writes about. That is not how this works, that is not how any of this works.

  • Gesamt
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Ho-ly shit. What a cool story. So many details and filled with action and suspense. This audiobook is for anyone that likes apocalypse, aliens, robots, drama,military, action..I'm running out of nouns here. I'm sure you won't regret listening to this epic tale.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable sci-fi spy thriller

Mix of sci-fi and spy thriller. Thoroughly enjoyed it. A fairly large number of characters, each narrated from first person sometimes make it hard to follow.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stefan
  • dortmund, Deutschland
  • 31.05.2016

Fantastisches Buch, tolle Geschichte...

Sehr zu empfehlen, nicht nur für Sci-Fi-fans, da die Story komplett auf der Erde spielt und viele Elemente eines spannenden Krimis hat. super vorgetragen von R C Bray.

  • Gesamt
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    2 out of 5 stars

A story for fans of military SF, but not for me.

The recommendation "Perfect for fans of [...] Iain M. Banks [...]" is as misleading as it can be. Instead of complex characters and an elaborate plot (which Banks stands for) it delivers straight forward action and bleak main characters.
It has a clear focus on military action and - especially in the last third - excessive descriptions of fighting scenes - be it melee, fire arms or airborne. In addition, there are several plausibility glitches and in terms of Hard SF/Space Opera it's miles away from e.g. "The Three Body Problem" (by Cixin Liu) or "The Expanse" series (by James S. A. Corey).

Though R.C. Bray does a good job bringing the characters to life, his drill sergeant intonation of the narrator is hard to get used to. It nevertheless fits well with the overall atmosphere of the story.

This book may have its audience, but for me it was the first and last volume of "The Fear Saga".