Jetzt kostenlos testen

Nach 30 Tagen 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Inhaltsangabe

    "Real science in Science Fiction. This is a must read for fans of SF." >(John S. Gertsch, Amazon Reviewer)

    Perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton, Iain M. Banks, and Orson Scott Card, Fear the Sky is a hard-hitting sci-fi thriller that will have you looking at the stars in a different way.

    In eleven years' time, a million members of an alien race will arrive at Earth. Years before they enter orbit, their approach will be announced by the flare of a thousand flames in the sky, their ships' huge engines burning hard to slow them from the vast speeds needed to cross interstellar space. These foreboding lights will shine in our night sky like new stars, getting ever brighter until they outshine even the sun, casting ominous shadows and banishing the night until they suddenly blink out. Their technology is vastly superior to ours, and they know they cannot possibly lose the coming conflict. But they, like us, have found no answer to the destructive force of the atom, and they have no intention of facing the onslaught of our primitive nuclear arsenal or the devastation it would wreak on the planet they crave. So they have flung out an advance party in front of them, hidden within one of the countless asteroids randomly roaming the void. They do not want us, they want our planet. Their Agents are arriving.

    ©2014 Stephen Moss (P)2015 Podium Publishing

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Weitere Titel des Autors

    Weitere Titel des Sprechers

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu Fear the Sky

    Bewertung
    Gesamt
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      253
    • 4 Sterne
      111
    • 3 Sterne
      28
    • 2 Sterne
      9
    • 1 Stern
      2
    Sprecher
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      286
    • 4 Sterne
      77
    • 3 Sterne
      11
    • 2 Sterne
      2
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Geschichte
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      212
    • 4 Sterne
      114
    • 3 Sterne
      30
    • 2 Sterne
      15
    • 1 Stern
      3

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Sortieren nach:
    Filtern:
    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    Pure mental masturbation

    Moss is a master chef who serves a perfectly balanced dish of geeky details and mind numbing action. This is what science fiction is all about.
    Bray's performance is impeccable. He deftly handles the many accents of the various characters, and excellently employs tempo shifts during the books many nerve wrenching sequences. You can tell he loves what he reads.

    Listening to this audio book resulted in a speeding ticket, involuntary shoplifting, and a missed flight. Totally worth it.

    8 Leute fanden das hilfreich

    • Gesamt
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      3 out of 5 stars

    Perry Rhodan meets the 6 Million Dollar Man

    ...using the general story line of Cixin Liu's "The Three Body Problem" as well as the sequel "The Dark Forest"
    Moss generally does a good job, but somehow this book (and it's sequels) comes across as a somewhat thin soup.
    Where Liu really wades throug deep scientific waters, Moss stays at the surface of it all.
    Liu's view of the sociological and economical impact of such a threat as pictured here is much more elaborate, again Moss stays a the surface.
    It is like, well, every time you expect, he is gaining some depth, he trails of.. and starts the action.
    He uses the story line (10 years where Liu covers 450 years!), to walk along just to place his favorites (Action) here and there and uses the rest to plot along.
    And so generally this book and it's brethrens lack some depth.
    Logical glitches, sometimes long stretching, slowly passages (Which are not bad because they are slowly but because they are.. hmm.. like molasses), ravaging action and overly detailed when it comes to action (fighting, may it be a dog fight between two, or mass mitlitary confrontations) makes listening to this/these book(s) somewhat painfull.
    Especially the logical flaws sometimes really hurt.
    There are a lot of characters, somehow none of them really gets three dimensional.
    It IS a book, which keeps you listening, anyway, so not totaly bad.
    But as with any thin soup, one is not really satisfied.
    The reader, Mr. Bray, does a quite good job, but does not distinguish himself from the lot of readers I have heard so far.
    So, this is fun to hear, but not satisfying in the end.
    I listend to Lius Books two times now, it may come to a third time or more, but i have no desire to repeat that with these books:
    See my comment on "Fear the Future"

    6 Leute fanden das hilfreich

    • Gesamt
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars

    Langatmig

    Eigentlich eine gute Geschichte aber der Autor schweift immer wieder in nicht enden wollenden Detailbeschreibungen ab, die das Hörvergnügen arg beeinträchtigen. Schade.

    7 Leute fanden das hilfreich

    • Gesamt
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      1 out of 5 stars

    Dont do it

    This is the first review i am writing. I never take the time, but if feel i have to warn people not to waste their money.
    I love R.C. Bray – and he is awesome as always – but the book is just just full of stupid characters and implausible story lines. Another review compared the book to "the three body problem". Those books have nothing in common. I hardly belief they exist in tthe same universe.

    • Gesamt
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      2 out of 5 stars

    more fiction than science

    I prefer science fiction that is either over the top or close to realism - and this book hits an awkward middle ground for me. The speaker is as always great. The story is interestingly told but is following patterns. If you don't look at the science angle, you can probably enjoy it.

    • Gesamt
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      2 out of 5 stars

    Full of plot holes.

    At times it hurts to listen to this story full of plot holes and logical flaws. It is packed with action and the narrator does a good job though.

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    Exceptional research and a great story, well presented

    I was stuck on this, I was too afraid to stop playing it, in case I missed out on something.

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    In parts rude but very entertaining

    A very enjoyable storyline and an experienced speaker. One who likes Science Fiction will certainly enjoy this storyline. I for my part will continue on to book 2 now.

    • Gesamt
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      3 out of 5 stars
    • w4
    • 25.02.2018

    Hollywood-Popcorn-Kino in Hörbuchform

    Ein passabler Gegenwarts-Invasions-Action-SciFi, geschrieben von einem offensichtlich militär- und waffenverrücktem Autor und vorgetragen wie die Moderation eines American-Football-Spiels. Fehlt nur noch ein zweiter Vorleser, der ab und zu reinhaut "Well, Neil surely hadn't accounted for THAT one, hadn't he? HAHAHA!". Natürlich hauen Autor wie Leser nur so um sich mit internationalen Stereotypen. Irgendwo ist das alles aber trotzdem nicht wirklich ärgerlich und sogar etwas unterhaltsam.

    • Gesamt
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars

    Catching up speed slowly ...

    After the first three hours, I asked myself if it was a fault, purchasing this book.
    It didn't grab me, was almost boring.

    But then it slowly started to catch up speed.
    At the end, it had a really breathtaking pace.

    It wasn't a fault, purchasing this book.