Regulärer Preis: 21,95 €

Details zum Angebot: Details zum Angebot:
  • 1 Hörbuch pro Monat
  • 30 Tage kostenlos testen
  • Dann 9,95 € pro Monat
  • Jederzeit kündbar
  • Unbegrenzt Audible Original Podcasts hören
ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham's books.

At 13, bright-eyed straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: She was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number.

Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend.

Americanized follows Sara's progress toward getting her green card, but that's only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian "American" teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost as terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2018 Sara Saedi (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Weitere Titel des Autors

Weitere Titel des Sprechers

Hörerrezensionen

Bewertung

Gesamt

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    1
  • 4 Sterne
    0
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0

Sprecher

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    1
  • 4 Sterne
    0
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0

Geschichte

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    1
  • 4 Sterne
    0
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0
Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen