Jetzt kostenlos testen

Nach 30 Tagen 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Inhaltsangabe

    Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020

     One of the Guardian's and TLS's 'Best Books of 2019'   

    In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker.

    This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all....

    In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen. 

    From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war. 

    Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story.

    ©2019 Natalie Haynes (P)2019 Macmillan Digital Audio

    Kritikerstimmen

    "A gripping feminist masterpiece." (Deborah Frances-White)

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu A Thousand Ships

    Bewertung
    Gesamt
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      13
    • 4 Sterne
      5
    • 3 Sterne
      0
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Sprecher
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      12
    • 4 Sterne
      4
    • 3 Sterne
      0
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Geschichte
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      12
    • 4 Sterne
      3
    • 3 Sterne
      1
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Sortieren nach:
    Filtern:
    • Gesamt
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars

    Interesting perspective on the female side of the Trojan war

    I liked the audiobook quite a great deal. I got into newer versions of Greek myths and I came here from
    Listening to Circe and song of achilles.
    The story was quite catching spin although sometimes the words weren’t that beautifully put as I was used to them by Madeline Miller.
    But it’s still an important story to be told and I recommend it a lot.