Jetzt kostenlos testen

Viper

Isles of Storm and Sorrow, Book 1
Autor: Bex Hogan
Sprecher: Saffron Coomber
Spieldauer: 11 Std. und 2 Min.
2 out of 5 stars (1 Bewertung)

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

Marianne has been training to be the Viper for her entire life - to serve and protect the King and the citizens of The Twelve Isles - but to become the Viper and protect the islands she loves she must find the strength to defeat her father. A new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas.  

He will make me a killer. Or he will have me killed. That is my destiny.  

Seventeen-year-old Marianne is fated to one day become the Viper, defender of the Twelve Isles.  

But the reigning Viper stands in her way. Corrupt and merciless, he prowls the seas in his warship, killing with impunity, leaving only pain and suffering in his wake.  

He's the most dangerous man on the ocean...and he is Marianne's father.  

She was born to protect the islands. But can she fight for them if it means losing her family, her home, the boy she loves - and perhaps even her life?  

©2019 Bex Hogan (P)2019 Hodder Children’s Books

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Weitere Titel des Sprechers

Das sagen andere Hörer zu Viper

Bewertung
Gesamt
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    0
  • 4 Sterne
    0
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    0
Sprecher
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    0
  • 4 Sterne
    1
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0
Geschichte
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    0
  • 4 Sterne
    0
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    0

Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Sortieren nach:
Filtern:
  • Gesamt
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    2 out of 5 stars

A let down but not terribly bad

2.5 stars

I don't know how I feel about this. I really didn't like the romance and the conflict was kind of too dramatic and didn't really make sense. Like why was her father this evil? What did he want? Why did he do what he did back when she was little? It just felt like "well, we need someone to be absolutely evil, oh, hmm, let's pick the father". And then the King who just.. didn't care? But who seemed to have been an okay if not good King at one point because this whole thing was a more recent development? It just didn't make any sense. Also sometimes things were just way too convenient and resolved too easily.
And seriously, why do authors keep doing this shit with the love interest? He abandoned her, tortured her, ignored her for years but oh, it was all because he was trying to protect her so of course she still loves him more than anything! I hate Bronn (or however you spell his name) and his entire sob backstory because it's just used to excuse his behaviour and this definitely unhealthy relationship. I wish he had been the one who got killed.
But overall this wasn't super bad or anything. I liked the MC well enough, she could be badass and was compassionate and everything and I liked Grace and the women strewn throughout were all very good at their jobs but I would have liked a little more.. cooperation between them. We just got one female friendship which, well, no, I won't spoil anything.
I liked the world building we got, even though it was a little all over the place. Some things were just waaay too cliché though. Like literally everyone knows what will happen when I tell them she hides with a family once she runs away. Literally everyone. And also, why were we told about her and Thomas's specific magic just to.. never talk about it again? Like I get that this is the first book in a series, but it would be great if authors wouldn't just dangle something in front of our faces in like the first half of the book and then ignore it until probably the next book. That's just bad timing and writing in my opinion.
Anyway, I have really mixed feelings but wouldn't really recommend it. If you want a version of this book in trashy but actual fun read Daughter of the Pirate King and the sequel Daughter of the Siren Queen by Tricia Levenseller. If you want a version of this book in a lot better read To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo.