Jetzt kostenlos testen

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Beschreibung von Audible

    Editors Select, September 2017

    Even though the entire premise of Silvera’s new YA novel is about impending death, this poignant tale of two teen boys knowingly going about their last day alive is all about the promise of life. As the socially stunted yet giant-hearted Mateo meets and gets to know rough-around-the-edges yet thoughtful Rufus, they explore what it means to be alive and who constitutes family. Michael Crouch, Robbie Daymond, and Bahni Turpin embody these and more characters in nuanced ways that tease out the many emotions of preparing for death (from regret to acceptance and growth) and embracing the most important thing about life: love. —Abby, Audible Editor

    Inhaltsangabe

    Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

    New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * A Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 * A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 * A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 * A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017 * A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

    On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.

    Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

    In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

    ©2017 Adam Silvera (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu They Both Die at the End

    Bewertung
    Gesamt
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      142
    • 4 Sterne
      41
    • 3 Sterne
      17
    • 2 Sterne
      4
    • 1 Stern
      2
    Sprecher
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      136
    • 4 Sterne
      45
    • 3 Sterne
      10
    • 2 Sterne
      2
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Geschichte
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      123
    • 4 Sterne
      50
    • 3 Sterne
      15
    • 2 Sterne
      3
    • 1 Stern
      2

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Sortieren nach:
    Filtern:
    • Gesamt
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars

    Nichts für nebenbei

    Die Geschichte und die Freundschaft der beiden ist tiefgründig und schön und doch durchweg traurig und melancholisch. Es gibt ein paar skurrile Momente zum Lächeln, aber es hätten nach meinem Geschmack mehr davon dabei sein können. Ich habe die Geschichte an einem verregneten, dunklen Wochenende durchgehört und fand es in dieser Kombination recht bedrückend. Die beiden männlichen Sprecher passen perfekt für ihre Charaktere. Die weibliche Erzählstimme klingt allerdings blechern wie eine Telefonansage, dafür und für die durchgehende Schwere einen Stern Abzug. Trotzdem sehr hörenswert.

    1 Person fand das hilfreich

    • Gesamt
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      3 out of 5 stars

    a little overrated by booktok

    It is reccomended as a tear jerker so much on tiktok, so I got a high expectation but well

    • Gesamt
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars

    Nettes Jugendbuch mit Schwächen

    Es ist ein Jugendbuch, das vor allen Dingen in der zweiten Hälfte gut unterhält. Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen hat mich das Buch nicht so sehr berührt. Interessante Idee, doch hapert es dann doch an der Umsetzung.

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    what an awesome dystopian heartwarming story!

    excellent readers, good story line,easy language.
    I can highly recommend it. thx to the author.

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars

    After this book I was straight up speechless

    I liked this book bery much although it is a bit clichée at some points. The title of the book was the one spoiler you always hoped wouldn‘t come true even though you knew. You are given so many possible ways they could die but in the end it is shocking and sudden non the less.

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    Didn't want to finish it

    This is one of those audiobooks I don't only listen to during my way to work but also at home because I can't stop...until I got to the point when I was getting anxious about the ending...wholesome characters and precious moments.

    • Gesamt
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      2 out of 5 stars

    intriguing premise, great characters, but...

    ...the story ends up rather disappointing. Unrealistic turns and mediocre pacing sadly cheapen the heartfelt exploration of life, death and love

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Ari
    • 01.01.2021

    Heartwrenching, beautiful and terrible all at once

    Even though the title very well tells you what's going to happen, I can't deny I foolishly hoped for a miracle, anyways. Beautifully written, and with each character having their own unique voice and story. I knew this was going to be painful, but it was just heart wrenching and cruel, in the softest, most heartwarming way possible.

    100/10 would break my heart again.
    also, very deep. we're not gonna be solving the big mysteries here, but just having this glimpse into their lives and getting to live with them on their final day seems...more than enough, really.

    Go and get your heart broken, too. You won't regret it.

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    What a great book

    Great characters and story, almost made me tear up -you know which part- which never happens.
    There are so many details through the whole book you just realise are there later in the story, it's amazing

    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    about love

    This is such a tragic story and i loved it. It was fascinating how touching and surprising and not at all boring the whole scenery was, even though i knew how it would end. I was very touched by the ending and that doesn't happen often. I loved the voices and how they could express all kinds of feelings through the written. I recommend this story to everyone.