Jetzt kostenlos testen

Their Lost Daughters

Audible's breakthrough crime author of 2018
Autor: Joy Ellis
Sprecher: Richard Armitage
Spieldauer: 9 Std. und 46 Min.
4.5 out of 5 stars (104 Bewertungen)
Regulärer Preis: 20,95 €
Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

Beschreibung von Audible

"Put your headphones on, turn your Wi-Fi off, clear your diary and take a ride with DI Jackman and DS Evans. As you listen to Their Lost Daughters they will start to feel like old friends, and you will live through their triumphs and traumas on the trail of one of the most wantonly twisted crimes ever to grace an audiobook. The book is harrowing at times but never overdone. It's as heartfelt as it is disturbing. In the run up to the final, brilliantly executed twist, it is almost clinically impossible to press the pause button." - Gabriel, Audible Editor 

"Checking my home for intruders isn't one of my standard nighttime rituals, but after listening to Their Lost Daughters, I found myself doing just that. In this chilling narrative, Joy Ellis expertly plays on your deepest fears and delivers a satisfying, shocking twist that no crime aficionado could predict. It bears all the hallmarks of great TV shows like Broadchurch, and with powerful narration from Richard Armitage you genuinely feel part of the action as the hunt to find the killer intensifies. I urge you to experience it in all its glory." - Jess, Audible Editor 

Inhaltsangabe

Introducing Audible Exclusive Their Lost Daughters, the first in the Jackman and Evans crime series, written by Joy Ellis, Audible's breakthrough crime author of 2018.

Deep in the muddy fields of the Lincolnshire Fens, a teenage girl is found wandering, delirious, claiming to have been drugged at a party. Metres away, the drowned body of another girl is found on an isolated beach. And all this on a small stretch of land where, nearly 10 years ago, the shocking disappearance of a young girl remains an open case. 

For DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans, the pressure is on to bring the perpetrators of these shocking crimes to justice. Are the crimes linked? Who are these young girls? And what on earth is going on under the green and pastured land of the Lincolnshire Fens? 

An Amazon Kindle number one best seller, Their Lost Daughters by Joy Ellis is performed by the incredible Richard Armitage (The Hobbit) and available exclusively at Audible. Be prepared for your pulse to rise and your nights to be disturbed as our breakthrough crime author of 2018 weaves her dark web of mystery. Perfect for fans of Sarah A. Denzil, LJ Ross and Denzil Meyrick. 

About the author 

Joy Ellis is not your ordinary newcomer to crime fiction. She started work in the 1960s as an apprentice florist in Covent Garden before opening her own flower shop in Lincolnshire. Later in life, she began to consider a career change towards crime writing and attended a workshop in Greece led by Sue Townsend, author of Adrian Mole. Ellis has now left the flowers behind and dedicates her life to writing gritty crime thrillers set in the Fens, where she lives with her police officer partner. 

About the narrator 

Richard Armitage is a British actor known for his vast array of film, television and theatre work, including The Hobbit, Spooks and The Crucible. His trademark baritone voice has earned him recognition, too, through his performance on many notable audiobooks as well as in TV and radio show narration. 

His audiobook credits include The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde featured in The Monster Collection, David Copperfield, and Angela Carter's The Bloody Chamber, and this experience shines through in Armitage's gripping performance of Their Lost Daughters

©2017 Joy Ellis (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

Kritikerstimmen

"If you’re a crime fiction fanatic, Their Lost Daughters could well be your next obsession." (Digital Spy)

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Hörerrezensionen

Bewertung

Gesamt

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    67
  • 4 Sterne
    24
  • 3 Sterne
    11
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    1

Sprecher

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    73
  • 4 Sterne
    18
  • 3 Sterne
    6
  • 2 Sterne
    2
  • 1 Stern
    1

Geschichte

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    51
  • 4 Sterne
    28
  • 3 Sterne
    14
  • 2 Sterne
    3
  • 1 Stern
    1
Sortieren nach:
  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

A perfect crime story

I think this story is just perfect!
There are many unexpectable twists and till the end you had no idea who the responsible people are!
The narrator is easy to understand even as a german and you can distinguish the different characters easy through the different types of speaking.

2 von 2 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich

  • Gesamt
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    2 out of 5 stars
  • PJH
  • 18.04.2019

Sehr konstruiert, langweiliger Sprecher

Ich will nichts von der Story verraten, aber sie wirkt sehr aufgesetzt und bemüht konstruiert. Dazu kommt Küchenpsychologie und klischeehafte Figuren. Der Sprecher macht die Sache leider noch langweiliger!

  • Gesamt
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    2 out of 5 stars

Too close to the Nikki Galena Series

I was disappointed in the nearly copied story and script of the other books written by Joy Ellis- nothing new there

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Fesselnd!

So spannend, dass ich es praktisch "durchhörte". Der Midlands/Lincolnshire-Dialekt war zwar anfänglich etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig, aber Richard Armitage hat das Buch so gut gelesen, dass ich mich schnell daran gewöhnte.
Die nächste Folge der Serie habe ich soeben runtergeladen und freue mich auf das was kommt.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolut spannend!

Die Erzählerstimme ist erstmal gewöhnungsbedürftig, aber nach 30 Minuten habe ich mir keine bessere vorstellen können. Tolle Dialektnachahmung.
Die Geschichte ist spannend, etwas verstörend und führt streckenweise an der Nase herum. Kauf nicht bereut.

  • Gesamt
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    4 out of 5 stars
  • BaS
  • 27.11.2018

Flacher Sprecher, nicht absehbare Auflösung

Die Auflösung ist in sich schlüssig, aber lange nicht absehbar. Einiges an der ,Polizeiarbeit‘ war mir zu einfach, es gab kaum Hindernisse bei der Ermittlung, daher nur wenige wirklich spannende Abschnitte, obwohl ich schon wissen wollte, wie es weiter geht.

Allerdings hat mich die Stimme geradezu abgebracht von der Story - Armitage liest fast emotionslos und flach, mir gefällt es besser, wenn der Sprecher jedem wichtigen Protagonisten eine besondere Klangfärbung gibt - allerdings waren hier sehr viele Personen, in einem Buch kann man in solchen Fällen zurückblättern, beim Hörbuch kommt man schneller durcheinander...

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Super

Totally absorbing... my house work did not get done :-) Gripping, totally unable not to listen...

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

attention: you will get lost...in a positive way of course!

One of the best stories I’ve listened to ever: beautifully written, extraordinary setting, a story line that gets you hooked right from the beginning. Performed by my favorite narrator and Master of Voices Richard Armitage...just can‘t wait to hear what‘s next for DI Jackman & DS Evans!!!

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Fast paced Crime Thriller

A crime thriller with a few unexpected twists made even more enjoyable through the excellent narration. Easy to recommend.