Jetzt kostenlos testen

The Sonic Memorial Project

A National Collaboration
Spieldauer: 2 Std. und 17 Min.

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

Im Warenkorb


The Sonic Memorial Project is a collection of radio stories and audio artifacts commemorating the life and history of the World Trade Center and its neighborhood.

Shortly after September 11, 2001, NPR's Lost & Found Sound brought together radio producers, archivists, new media artists, historians, and public radio stations nationwide to collect and preserve the stories and sounds of the World Trade Center and its neighborhood.

With National Public Radio, Davia Nelson and Nikki Silva (The Kitchen Sisters) set up a phone line and invited listeners to contribute their voice mails, remembrances, home recordings, and shards of sound to this documentary effort. Hundreds called with their stories and audio artifacts, both personal and historic. These recordings, along with interviews gathered by radio producers across the country, are presented in this collection of stories broadcast on NPR during the year following the attack. The archive and project continue online at where one can explore the archive, contribute sounds and stories, and immerse oneself in the Sonic Browser, an interactive soundscape of stories and audio fragments.

The Sonic Memorial Project is a national collaboration with Lost & Found Sound, NPR, Picture Project, WNYC,, Radio Diaries, Ben Shapiro Productions, dotsperinch, Sound Portraits, Creative Time, MPR/Public Radio Collaboration, and independent producers nationwide.

Major project funding provided by The Corporation for Public Broadcasting & The National Endowment for the Arts. Additional support provided by The Ford Foundation, California Arts Council, and the Sonic Memorial Fund.

©2001 The Kitchen Sisters Productions


  • Peabody Award Winner, 2002
  • Best Documentary (Gold Award), 2003 Third Coast International Audio Festival

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Weitere Titel des Sprechers


Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen