Jetzt kostenlos testen

The Girl from the Savoy

Autor: Hazel Gaynor
Spieldauer: 14 Std. und 19 Min.
4 out of 5 stars (1 Bewertung)

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

The new rich and compelling novel from the author of The Girl Who Came Home. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

Dolly Lane is a dreamer, a downtrodden maid who longs to dance on the London stage, but the outbreak of war takes everything from her: Teddy, the man she loves - and her hopes of a better life.

When she secures employment as a chambermaid at London's grandest hotel, The Savoy, Dolly's proximity to the dazzling guests makes her yearn for a life beyond the grey drudgery she was born into. Her fortune takes an unexpected turn when she responds to an unusual newspaper advert and finds herself thrust into the heady atmosphere of London's glittering theatre scene and into the sphere of the celebrated actress Loretta May and her brother, Perry.

All three are searching for something, yet the aftermath of war has cast a dark shadow over them all. A brighter future is tantalisingly close - but can a girl like Dolly ever truly leave her past behind?

©2016 Hazel Gaynor (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

Kritikerstimmen

"Peopled with unforgettable characters.... Once begun, I dare you to put it down." (Kathleen Tessaro, author of The Perfume Collector)
"Sumptuous, gorgeous, authentic and surprising, Hazel Gaynor has written another hit." ( Sunday Independent)
"A stunningly evocative story so vividly told.... I loved every gorgeously written page of it." (Claudia Carroll)
"Unputdownable. The characters jumped from the pages, filling my head with extraordinary moments." (Carmel Harrington)

Praise for Hazel Gaynor: "A beautifully imagined novel rich in historic detail and with authentic, engaging characters - I loved this book." (Kate Kerrigan, author of The Dress)

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Weitere Titel des Sprechers

Hörerrezensionen

Bewertung

Gesamt

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    0
  • 4 Sterne
    1
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0

Sprecher

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    0
  • 4 Sterne
    1
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0

Geschichte

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    0
  • 4 Sterne
    1
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0

Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen