Jetzt kostenlos testen

Salt to the Sea

Autor: Ruta Sepetys
Spieldauer: 8 Std. und 47 Min.
4.5 out of 5 stars (16 Bewertungen)

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

New York Times best seller! 

"Masterfully crafted." (The Wall Street Journal)

Winner, 2017 APA Audie Awards - Young Adult 

For fans of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international best-selling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating - yet unknown - tragedies. 

In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. 

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country nor culture nor status matters as all 10,000 people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. 

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed number-one New York Times best seller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff - the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. 

“Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris, and Michael Crouch perform mesmerizing narration worthy of Sepetys’s spectacular novel. Verdict: Libraries with even the most limited audio budgets will want to invest.” (School Library Journal, starred review) 

“The talented narrators excel in capturing the tone of their characters.... [They] work together to create a vivid and well-rounded reading experience, [and] bring forth the truth of the wartime experience.” (Booklist, starred review) 

“The four narrators (Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris and Michael Crouch) are superbly cast.... The story’s plot and pacing translate beautifully to the audio medium.” (Publishers Weekly

Featured on NPR's Morning Edition 

©2016 Ruta Sepetys (P)2016 Listening Library

Kritikerstimmen

"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." (Elizabeth Wein, New York Times best-selling author of Printz Award Honor Book Code Name Verity)

"A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying - and little-known - moment in World War II history." (Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist Bomb)

"Brutal. Beautiful. Honest." (Sabaa Tahir, New York Times best-selling author of An Ember in the Ashes)

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Hörerbewertungen

Bewertung

Gesamt

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    8
  • 4 Sterne
    6
  • 3 Sterne
    1
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    0

Sprecher

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    7
  • 4 Sterne
    5
  • 3 Sterne
    3
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0

Geschichte

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    8
  • 4 Sterne
    5
  • 3 Sterne
    1
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    0

Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Sortieren nach:
Filtern:
  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

An important read

The book was both heartwrenching and stunningly beautifull. It explored a tragedy I've never heard of. How extremely sad it is to know, that millions of people had to go through the same pain and misery, as the caracters of this novel. I loved, that they used different voiceactors for the 4 main caracters. It truly added much to the listening experience. I believe this book will stay with me forever.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

an amazing story

This book is so so good. I like the multiple points of view. Every character has his own voice (not only because there are diffrent narrators, which by the way are all great and really bring the charaters to life). I love that Ruta Sepetys did so much reseach on the Wilhelm Gustloff and the time period. There are so many tragedies that happened during the 2. world war that have somewhat been forgotten or haven't been talked about. Such an amazing story that provokes all your feels :)