Jetzt kostenlos testen

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Inhaltsangabe

    New York Times best-selling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure perfect for fans of Lisa Graff. 

    The town of Journey's End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist father in the tiny Scottish village isn't exactly Nolie's idea of a good time, but she soon finds a friend: Native Journey's Ender Bel McKissick. 

    While Nolie's father came to Journey's End to study the Boundary - a mysterious fog bank offshore - Bel's family can't afford to consider it a threat. The McKissicks' livelihood depends on the tourists drawn by legends of a curse. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, going into the Boundary means you'll never come back. 

    Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns - without having aged a day and with no memory of the past 100 years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within. 

    While Nolie's father wants to have the village evacuated, Bel's parents lead the charge to stay in Journey's End. Meanwhile, Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an ancient Scottish spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice. 

    ©2016 Rachel Hawkins (P)2016 Listening Library

    Kritikerstimmen

    "Hawkins’ latest middle grade novel is a spooky tale of friendship and adventure." (School Library Journal)

    "[T]he story meanders happily through local myth and legend, seamlessly blending an American and Scottish perspectives.... Rife with emotion and adventure, Hawkins’ novel celebrates the joyful explorations of childhood and the sometimes-difficult lessons learned with age." (Publishers Weekly

    "Entwined with the contemporary story...is an account of a 500-year-old tragedy: the death of a laird's son, the nanny punished for it, and a powerful curse." (Kirkus

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu Journey's End

    Bewertung

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen