Jetzt kostenlos testen

Avogadro Corp

The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears
Sprecher: Rob Granniss
Serie: Singularity, Titel 1
Spieldauer: 6 Std. und 43 Min.
4.5 out of 5 stars (47 Bewertungen)

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.

David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

©2011, 2012 William Hertling (P)2012 William Hertling

Kritikerstimmen

  • Science Fiction DIY Book Festival, Winner, 2011-12
  • Gold Winner, Science Fiction Book of the Year, 2011

"Avogadro Corp is a tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines." (Brad Feld, managing directory Foundry Group, co-founder Techstars)

"Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don't start without the time to finish - it won't let you go.” (Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author The Intelligent Organization)
"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night." (Gene Kim, author of Visible Ops)
Hörerbewertungen
Bewertung
Gesamt
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    28
  • 4 Sterne
    10
  • 3 Sterne
    7
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    1
Sprecher
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    22
  • 4 Sterne
    16
  • 3 Sterne
    3
  • 2 Sterne
    2
  • 1 Stern
    0
Geschichte
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    25
  • 4 Sterne
    11
  • 3 Sterne
    5
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    1

Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Sortieren nach:
Filtern:
  • Gesamt
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting Story, but atrocious writing style.

As a software developer I really enjoyed the fact that the story isn't completely out-there. Sure there are a couple of "magic" gimmicks but for the most part the represented tech is believable. The structure of the story is also sound, which is nice.

Sadly, William Hertling just can not write. He often descends in completely pointless techno babble (yeah .. I did understand it, it was accurate, it just doesn't have any place in a story) and completely irrelevant passages and details. Here are a few barely paraphrased ones : "Mike said 'Hi David'. 'Hi Mike' said David. A TSA official came, so they continued talking outside" (who cares about the TSA agent??!). "He came into a room that looked like it was out of one of his wife's magazines. 'It looks like it is out of one of of my wife's magazines!' he said", or lengthy passages about Bars and Cafés in Portland that read more like ads in Commercial Flight magazines than a novel and really do not add anything to the story or even the setting. The reader really doesn't care that Bar X has the best cafe in Portland or how flowery it is. Oh .. and then of course the endless repetitions of the last 200 pages. Every time the protagonists meet someone who doesn't know what happened so far you get a description of what you have been reading, starting right at the beginning up to the point where you are .. in all the gory details! It's just dreadful.

Rob Graniss does a good job at reading, though he does often sound like he's making a talk at a tech congress ... which, considering what I just wrote about the writing style, is actually quite fitting.

so .. did I hate it? No. But unless you're in the described field (software development, preferably web apps) or are seriously good at droning out pointless (and endless) tech talk and ignoring said repetitions and just super-awkwardness, then this book might be a big disappointment.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Cyber punk at its best

Loved it. The perfect cyberpunk series. Very well designed and written tech developments constructed into a thrilling story line.