Jetzt kostenlos testen

Nach 30 Tagen 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb
Amazon Prime und Audible Logo

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Inhaltsangabe

    Set in an alternative Edwardian England, this is a comedy of manners, manor houses and hedge mazes: including a magic-infused murder mystery and a delightful queer romance.

    For fans of Georgette Heyer or Julia Quinn's Bridgerton who'd like to welcome magic into their lives....

    Young baronet Robin Blyth thought he was taking up a minor governmental post. However, he's actually been appointed parliamentary liaison to a secret magical society. If it weren’t for this administrative error, he’d never have discovered the incredible magic underlying his world. 

    Cursed by mysterious attackers and plagued by visions, Robin becomes determined to drag answers from his missing predecessor—but he’ll need the help of Edwin Courcey, his hostile magical-society counterpart. Unwillingly thrown together, Robin and Edwin will discover a plot that threatens every magician in the British Isles.

    The Binding meets Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell in debut author Freya Marske’s A Marvellous Light.

    ©2021 Freya Marske (P)2021 Macmillan Publishers International Limited

    Kritikerstimmen

    "Mystery! Magic! Murder! Long looks full of yearning! This book is a confection, both marvellous and light." (Alix E. Harrow) 

    "Freya Marske's A Marvellous Light is an absolute delight. I was caught from the very beginning by the compellingly realized characters, the gorgeous and deadly magical world, and the fascinating mystery. If you ever wished Downton Abbey was sharper-edged and full of magic, this is the book for you." (Kat Howard, author of An Unkindness of Magicians)

     "A dazzling debut." (Shelley Parker-Chan, author of She Who Became the Sun)

    "Prepare to fall in love with the gorgeous Edwardian setting, the sizzling character dynamics, and the murderous enchanted hedge maze." (Emily Tesh, author of Silver in the Wood)

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Weitere Titel des Autors

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu A Marvellous Light

    Bewertung
    Gesamt
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      7
    • 4 Sterne
      0
    • 3 Sterne
      1
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Sprecher
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      7
    • 4 Sterne
      1
    • 3 Sterne
      0
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0
    Geschichte
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      7
    • 4 Sterne
      0
    • 3 Sterne
      1
    • 2 Sterne
      0
    • 1 Stern
      0

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Sortieren nach:
    Filtern:
    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      5 out of 5 stars

    Wonderful, if rather spicy

    I adore the plotline and the worldbuilding! Both make this a rather exquisite fantasy novel in it's own right. Heart of it is a sweet and heartfelt romance, which still wasn't too overpowering for my taste. Readers beware, though: It get's rather explicite at times. I found it excellently done, but want to leave that here in case it's not your cup of tea. Or in case you were planning to listen to the novel on that 16 hour family roadtrip ;) you do you, though!
    For anyone who's not put off by a bit of spice, I can fullheartedly recommend it!

    1 Person fand das hilfreich