Midwife Mysteries

4 Titel in dieser Serie
4.5 out of 5 stars 3 Bewertungen

The Midwife's Tale Inhaltsangabe

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas’s remarkable debut, The Midwife’s Tale.

It is 1644, and Parliament’s armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels’ hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget’s friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer.

Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who’s far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha’s past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city’s most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther’s murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.

©2012 Samuel Thomas (P)2013 Audible, Inc.
Mehr anzeigen Weniger anzeigen
  • 1. Titel

    • The Midwife's Tale

    • A Mystery
    • Autor: Sam Thomas
    • Sprecher: Leila Birch
    • Spieldauer: 10 Std. und 21 Min.
    • Ungekürztes
    • Gesamt
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars 1

    It is 1644, and Parliament’s armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels’ hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget’s friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer.

    Regulärer Preis: 27,95 €

  • 2. Titel

    • The Harlot's Tale

    • Midwife Mysteries, Book 2
    • Autor: Sam Thomas
    • Sprecher: Leila Birch
    • Spieldauer: 10 Std. und 24 Min.
    • Ungekürztes
    • Gesamt
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Sprecher
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars 1

    It is August, 1645, one year since York fell into Puritan hands. As the city suffers through a brutal summer heat, Bridget Hodgson and Martha Hawkins are drawn into a murder investigation more frightening than their last. In order to appease God’s wrath—and end the heat-wave—the city’s overlords have launched a brutal campaign to whip the city’s sinners into godliness. But for someone in York, this is not enough. First a prostitute and her client are found stabbed to death, then a pair of adulterers are beaten and strangled.

    Regulärer Preis: 26,95 €

  • 3. Titel

    • The Witch Hunter's Tale

    • Autor: Sam Thomas
    • Sprecher: Leila Birch
    • Spieldauer: 9 Std. und 51 Min.
    • Ungekürztes
    • Gesamt
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Sprecher
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Geschichte
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Winter has come to the city of York, and with it the threat of witchcraft. As women and children sicken and die, midwife Bridget Hodgson is pulled against her will into a full-scale witch-hunt that threatens to devour all in its path, guilty and innocent alike. Bridget - accompanied once again by her deputy Martha Hawkins and her nephew Will Hodgson - finds herself playing a lethal game of cat and mouse against the most dangerous men in York, as well as her sworn enemy Rebecca Hooke.

    Regulärer Preis: 26,95 €

  • 4. Titel

    • The Midwife and the Assassin

    • Autor: Sam Thomas
    • Sprecher: Leila Birch
    • Spieldauer: 10 Std. und 45 Min.
    • Ungekürztes
    • Gesamt
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Sprecher
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Geschichte
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget's friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer.

    Regulärer Preis: 27,95 €