Jetzt kostenlos testen

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen

    Inhaltsangabe

    A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s 20th century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N. K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy.

    When Rin aced the Keju - the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies - it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard - the most elite military school in Nikan - was even more surprising.

    But surprises aren’t always good.

    Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the South is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power - an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive - and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.

    For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away....

    Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity...and that it may already be too late.

    R.F. Kuang studies modern Chinese history. She has a BA from Georgetown University and is currently a graduate student in the United Kingdom on a Marshall Scholarship. The Poppy War is her debut novel.

    ©2018 Rebecca Kuang (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu The Poppy War

    Bewertung
    Gesamt
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      30
    • 4 Sterne
      16
    • 3 Sterne
      11
    • 2 Sterne
      4
    • 1 Stern
      1
    Sprecher
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      33
    • 4 Sterne
      12
    • 3 Sterne
      5
    • 2 Sterne
      2
    • 1 Stern
      1
    Geschichte
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 Sterne
      24
    • 4 Sterne
      14
    • 3 Sterne
      10
    • 2 Sterne
      3
    • 1 Stern
      2

    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Sortieren nach:
    Filtern:
    • Gesamt
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Sprecher
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Geschichte
      4 out of 5 stars
    • BWA
    • 31.01.2021

    Amazing start, great build up, ok ending

    Loved the first half of the book. Great story with good character. The second half compared to the start fell a bit behind. Didn't like the main character but, I hope she is the way she is because she needs room to evolve in the next two books. Overall with the lovely audio performance it is a 4.5 star listening experiance.

    1 Person fand das hilfreich