Jetzt kostenlos testen

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

Im Warenkorb

Bist du Amazon Prime-Mitglied?

Audible 60 Tage kostenlos testen


    Mary Ann Evans (1819-1880), known by her pen name George Eliot, was one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. Her novels are known for their realism and psychological insight. Four of them are included in this volume: Middlemarch, Daniel Deronda, The Mill on the Floss, and The Lifted Veil.

    Middlemarch, A Study of Provincial Life explores various subjects of concern to modern life: art, education, idealism, medicine, politics, religion, science, self, society, the status of women, and human relationships. Some of the most memorable portraits in English literature occur among Eliot’s characters: Dorothea Brooke, Rosamond Vincy, Edward Casaubon, and Will Ladislaw.

    Daniel Deronda (1876) is set at the heart of the cosmopolitan aristocracy of imperial England, and is extremely broad in its scope; the author explores themes of ethnic identity, prejudice, tolerance, religion, and imperialism, and the text has many literary references to mythology, mysticism, science, and philosophy. The main characters, Daniel Deronda and Gwendolyn Harleth, are amongst Eliot’s most remarkable.

    The Mill on the Floss chronicles the lives of Tom and Maggie Tulliver. The most important threads concern Maggie’s relationship with her brother, and her romantic relationships with Philip Wakem and Stephen Guest. The Mill on the Floss highlights the tension between circumstances and the energies of individuals that struggle against them.

    Public Domain (P)2021 Museum Audiobooks

    Das könnte dir auch gefallen

    Weitere Titel des Autors

    Weitere Titel des Sprechers

    Das sagen andere Hörer zu The George Eliot Collection: Middlemarch, The Mill on the Floss, Silas Marner, and The Lifted Veil


    Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

    Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen