Jetzt kostenlos testen

Harrier Boys, Book 2: New Technology, New Threats, New Tactics, 1990-2010

Autor: Bob Marston
Sprecher: Roger Davis
Serie: Harrier Boys, Titel 2
Spieldauer: 11 Std. und 34 Min.
Regulärer Preis: 25,95 €
Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.


In the second volume of Harrier Boys, as with the first, the history of this remarkable aircraft in service with UK armed forces is illustrated through personal reminiscences of the people who worked with it. The book begins with explanations of the mature concept of operations with the Harrier GR3 in the Cold War. It then progresses through the evolution of Harrier II, starting with the GR5, and updates to the Sea Harrier, while the potential battles to be fought necessitated ever-changing tactics and technology. 

The new Harriers used digital developments for airframe, engine, and weapons control. Conflicts in Iraq, Bosnia, Kosovo, Sierra Leone, and Afghanistan saw ground-attack missions move towards the delivery of smart weapons from medium level, rather than the dumb bombs and low level of the Cold War era - meaning that the Harrier had once more to demonstrate its legendary versatility. The introduction of the Sea Harrier FA2, with its beyond visual range air-to-air missiles and improved radar, gave much improved air defense. The UK Harrier story ends with the closer integration of the RN and RAF forces, before the aircraft's all-too-early retirement in 2010, possibly decades before other countries forsake this unique capability.

©2016 Grub Street (P)2017 Grub Street

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen


Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen