Regulärer Preis: 24,95 €

Details zum Angebot: Details zum Angebot:
  • 1 Hörbuch pro Monat
  • 30 Tage kostenlos testen
  • Dann 9,95 € pro Monat
  • Jederzeit kündbar
  • Unbegrenzt Audible Original Podcasts hören
ODER
Im Warenkorb

Beschreibung von Audible

Charlotte “Charley” Davidson is not your stereotypical Grim Reaper. She’s sexy, sassy, and likes to help dead people with unfinished business before they cross. She’s more of a bright light kind of girl than a hood with an axe. For her day job, Charley is an Albuquerque private investigator and a consultant to her police detective uncle. Lately, her nights have been steamed up with dreams of a hot mystery lover who may or may not be real. It’s chick-lit meets paranormal with a touch of mystery in the buzz-worthy First Grave on the Right.

Inevitably, this book will be compared to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. They both have feisty female protagonists, snappy dialogue, and zany characters. Veteran narrator Lorelei King also performs the Stephanie Plum books and is well-cast in this novel. What makes her fantastic in the Plum series is her ability to define the voices of all the secondary characters and inject them with interest and distinct personalities. In this performance, she does not disappoint. King seamlessly switches among the characters and has fantastic comedic timing. She elevates the work and keeps the laughs coming.

This is a debut novel from Darynda Jones. It will not be her last; this is clearly a launch for a series. There’s quite a bit of set-up as Charley begins to understand more of her abilities and the presence of other supernatural beings. Jones has created an interesting premise and characters. The mystery element is weak, however, and the writing is on the mediocre side. Jones is at her best with witty dialogue and keeps things moving at a brisk pace. Overall, it’s a fun, breezy listen and an enjoyable escape.

Fans of Janet Evanovich, Lorelei King, and paranormal romance will want to give this new series a listen. —Julie MacDonald

Inhaltsangabe

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light”. But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice.

Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life... and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

This is a thrilling debut novel from an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense. The audio includes a sneak peak of Second Grave on the Left

.
©2011 Darynda Jones (P)2011 Macmillan Audio

Hörerrezensionen

Bewertung

Gesamt

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    44
  • 4 Sterne
    22
  • 3 Sterne
    7
  • 2 Sterne
    3
  • 1 Stern
    1

Sprecher

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    39
  • 4 Sterne
    14
  • 3 Sterne
    4
  • 2 Sterne
    1
  • 1 Stern
    1

Geschichte

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    29
  • 4 Sterne
    19
  • 3 Sterne
    5
  • 2 Sterne
    5
  • 1 Stern
    1
Sortieren nach:
  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Catherina
  • Heuweiler, Deutschland
  • 22.09.2013

Unterhaltung at its best

Ich liebe es mir beim joggen englische Hörbücher reinzuziehen, habe eine Abwechslung von der "One foot in the grave"- Reihe gebraucht. Ich muss sagen, ich wurde nicht enttäuscht. Einzigartiger schräger Humor, unterhaltsame Story, thrilling und apalling. Außerdem coole Typen aller Art (Geister, Menschen und nicht zu vergessen den one and only most attractive ever "son of satan", sigh..;))
Alles in Allem kein großer Anspruch, den erwarte ich auch nicht zum Englisch üben, einfach großartige Unterhaltung für Romantikerinnen, die keine Lust auf weichgespülte Schnulzen haben und die gerne etwas realitätsferne Geschichten hören.. denn das sind sie wahrlich.

1 von 1 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • hv850158
  • Waldbronn, Deutschland
  • 31.05.2011

Übernatürlich, lustig, ein wenig erotisch

Unterhaltsame Geschichte, manchmal ein wenig dick aufgetragen, aber rundum gelungen.
Ich hoffe auf eine Fortsetzung!

1 von 1 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Silvia
  • Offenbach, Deutschland
  • 05.04.2013

Diese Serie rockt!!!!

Ich kann Euch allen diese Buchreihe nur wärmstens empfehlen. Die Geschichte über Charlie (Charlotte) Davidson, ihres Zeichens Grim Reaper, ist zum Schreien komisch. Sarkasmus, witzige Kommentare, witzige Schlagabtausche, witzige Situationen und als Sahnehäubchen die unvergleich gute Lorelei King als Sprecherin, die allen Figuren derart gut Leben einhaucht, dass man schon nach fünf Minuten vergessen hat, dass da nur einer ist, der da spricht.
Und trotz all des Witzes gibt es auch ernste Passagen, Dinge die einem nahe gehen und die die Menschlichkeit der Grim Reaperin zeigen. Denn.... es ist ja irgendwie auch ein Krimi. Und irgendwie geht es auch um das Leben danach, das Sterben und das Leben vor dem Sterben.
Tja. Und dann gibt es auch noch Liebe. Sex gibts auch, wird aber nicht näher beschrieben, außer dass er galaktisch gut ist.
Also Leute: HÖRT DIESE BUCHSERIE !!!

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen