Jetzt kostenlos testen

Creativity, Inc.

Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
Sprecher: Peter Altschuler
Spieldauer: 12 Std. und 52 Min.
4.5 out of 5 stars (265 Bewertungen)

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

From a cofounder of Pixar Animation Studios - the Academy Award-winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story - comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. 

New York Times best seller

Named one of the best books of the year by The Huffington PostFinancial TimesSuccess Inc.Library Journal

Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation - into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity - but it is also, as Pixar cofounder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible”.

For nearly 20 years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner 30 Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired - and so profitable.   

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a PhD student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his cofounding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success - and in the 13 movies that followed - was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

  • Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
  • If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
  • It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
  • The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
  • A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
©2014 Ed Catmull and Amy Wallace (P)2014 Random House Audio

Kritikerstimmen

"Business gurus love to tell stories about Pixar, but this is our first chance to hear the real story from someone who lived it and led it. Everyone interested in managing innovation - or just good managing - needs to read this book." (Chip Heath, coauthor of Switch and Decisive)

"Many have attempted to formulate and categorize inspiration and creativity. What Ed Catmull shares instead is his astute experience that creativity isn’t strictly a well of ideas, but an alchemy of people. In Creativity, Inc. Ed reveals, with commonsense specificity and honesty, examples of how not to get in your own way and how to realize a creative coalescence of art, business, and innovation." (George Lucas)

Das sagen andere Hörer zu Creativity, Inc.

Bewertung
Gesamt
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    199
  • 4 Sterne
    50
  • 3 Sterne
    10
  • 2 Sterne
    5
  • 1 Stern
    1
Sprecher
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    184
  • 4 Sterne
    30
  • 3 Sterne
    12
  • 2 Sterne
    5
  • 1 Stern
    2
Geschichte
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    175
  • 4 Sterne
    39
  • 3 Sterne
    14
  • 2 Sterne
    2
  • 1 Stern
    0

Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Sortieren nach:
Filtern:
  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

The narrator is so lovely which makes the story even more captivating. Couldn't stop listening to it. I appreciate the fact that it follows the evolution of creativity in good and bad times. That makes it real and a good source of learning.

2 Leute fanden das hilfreich

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Spannende Einblicke in die Entstehung von Pixar...

Wer schon immer wissen wollte, was hinter Pixar Animations steckt, gespickt mit vielen Annekdoten und Anregungen, wie man eine kreative Arbeitsatmosphäre aufbaut und aufrecht erhält.

Die Art, in der das Buch geschrieben ist, ist dabei sehr Inspirierend und Peter Altschuler gibt dem ganzen einen fast schon großvätterlichen Touch, der dem Stoff einen sehr unterhaltsamen Anstrich gibt.

Ich empfehle dieses Buch jedem, der einmal hinter die Kulissen von Pixar schauen möchte, aber auch jedem, der im täglichen Leben mit kreativen Teams arbeitet, bzw. sich Anregungen für die Organisation von Arbeitsstrukturen einholen möchte.

Volle Punktzahl von mir!

2 Leute fanden das hilfreich

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Truely insperational

I found this book one of the best management books I came across so far. However, I always find it difficult to relate to other more conservative businesses as things are often explained to far off reality. Still I strongly recommend this book.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Inspired Management Style

Loved it from start to finish!
For every leader managing a group of creatives (in my case product design). You will read/listen and relate to the common pitfalls and how to avoid them. Super Performance too.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars
  • EK
  • 07.07.2019

Sehr inspirierend

Die Geschichte von Pixar ist sehr interessant und man kann viele Elemente in eigenem Unternehmen einsetzen.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars

must read for every business leader

Truly inspiring, insightful, revealing. thank you for a masterclass in modern leadership, this is a legacy worth celebrating.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Eye-opening, Inspiring, Important.

An inspiring tale of one of the greatest revolutions in creative history. Many life lessons were learned. I recommend it to anyone who has passion and love for what they do.

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Extraordinary book

This book and its speaker have given me an extraordinary experience. I hope I can bring even a fraction of the things I learned into my everyday life, no matter if that is work or private. So inspiring!

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Lange aber es ist es wert!

ich finde es so interessant zu hören was in Pixar alles so passiert. Und der Sprecher ist sehr gut!

  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars

Insightful and very worthwhile

a good read just for the story of Pixar alone, and a must read for every aspiring artist and/or (people) manager.