Jetzt kostenlos testen

Conductor's Guide to Copland's Appalachian Spring, Billy the Kid, & Fanfare for the Common Man

Sprecher: Gerard Schwarz
Spieldauer: 1 Std. und 13 Min.

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

Im Warenkorb


Gerard Schwarz shares his enthusiasm for the music of Aaron Copland, the quintessential American composer. Born in 1900 into a family of immigrants in Brooklyn, Copland didn't come from a musical family and had to find his own way, even trying to learn harmony from a mail order course. Today, Copland has become a permanent part of our cultural landscape, as important to our national consciousness as Whitman, Whistler, or Melville.

Copland embraced the populist movement of the 1930s and began to alter his musical style, saying: "I wanted to see if I couldn't say what I had to say in the simplest possible terms." Later, at an age when most men think of retiring, he launched a new career as a conductor, leading orchestras around the world.

Schwarz uses musical excerpts from the ballet, Appalachian Spring (which originated from a proposal from Martha Graham), Billy the Kid, and Fanfare for the Common Man to explore the use of folk tunes, delicate traces of melody, and overlapped harmonies in Copland's music.

If you love to attend the symphony, this hour of delightful entertainment and fascinating information will enrich your symphony experience like nothing else. See the entire Musically Speaking Collection here.
©2005 Musically Speaking, Inc. (P)2005 Musically Speaking, Inc.


Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Es gibt noch keine Rezensionen