Jetzt kostenlos testen

A Shadow Bright and Burning

Kingdom on Fire, Book 1
Sprecher: Fiona Hardingham
Serie: Kingdom on Fire, Titel 1
Spieldauer: 12 Std. und 49 Min.
4.5 out of 5 stars (6 Bewertungen)

Danach 9,95 € pro Monat. Jederzeit kündbar.

ODER
Im Warenkorb

Inhaltsangabe

"Vivid characters, terrifying monsters, and world building as deep and dark as the ocean." (Victoria Aveyard, number one New York Times best-selling author of Red Queen

I am Henrietta Howel. 

The first female sorcerer in hundreds of years. 

The prophesied one. 

Or am I? 

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. 

Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she's shocked when instead of being executed, she's invited to train as one of Her Majesty's royal sorcerers. 

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. 

But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one. 

As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city - and the one she loves? 

Exhilarating and gripping, Jessica Cluess' spellbinding fantasy introduces a powerful, unforgettable heroine and a world filled with magic, romance, and betrayal. For fans of Libba Bray, Sarah J. Maas, and Cassandra Clare.  

"The magic! The intrigue! The guys! We were sucked into this monster-ridden, alternative England from page one. Henrietta is literally a 'girl on fire' and this team of sorcerers training for battle had a pinch of Potter blended with a drop of [Cassandra Clare's] Infernal Devices." (Justine Magazine)

"Cluess gamely turns the chosen-one trope upside down in this smashing dark fantasy." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

"Unputdownable. I loved the monsters, the magic, and the teen warriors who are their world's best hope! Jessica Cluess is an awesome storyteller!" (Tamora Pierce, number one New York Times best-selling author)

"A fun, inventive fantasy. I totally have a book crush on Rook." (Sarah Rees Brennan, New York Times best-selling author)

"Pure enchantment. I love how Cluess turned the 'chosen one' archetype on its head. With the emotional intensity of my favorite fantasy books, this is the kind of story that makes you forget yourself." (Roshani Chokshi, New York Times best-selling author of The Star-Touched Queen)

"A glorious, fast-paced romp of an adventure. Jessica Cluess has built her story out of my favorite ingredients: sorcery, demons, romance, and danger." (Kelly Link, author of Pretty Monsters)

©2016 Jessica Cluess (P)2016 Listening Library

Kritikerstimmen

"Henrietta is pragmatic and bitingly funny, and she more than holds her own in a man's world. Cluess gamely turns the chosen-one trope upside down in this smashing dark fantasy." (Publishers Weekly)

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen

Das sagen andere Hörer zu A Shadow Bright and Burning

Bewertung
Gesamt
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    3
  • 4 Sterne
    2
  • 3 Sterne
    1
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0
Sprecher
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    5
  • 4 Sterne
    1
  • 3 Sterne
    0
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0
Geschichte
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Sterne
    3
  • 4 Sterne
    2
  • 3 Sterne
    1
  • 2 Sterne
    0
  • 1 Stern
    0

Rezensionen - mit Klick auf einen der beiden Reiter können Sie die Quelle der Rezensionen bestimmen.

Sortieren nach:
Filtern:
  • Gesamt
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sprecher
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geschichte
    5 out of 5 stars
  • HW
  • 27.07.2018

Perfect

I loved this book. It's charming and exciting and beautifully written. The main character is strong and sweet, humble and fierce in a Victorian world of men. The worldbuilding is rich. The story is pleasantly twisty. All around a joy to listen to.
I bought book two before I was half way through!