Wir haben eine für Screen-Reader optimierte Seite erstellt. Um die Barrierefreiheit unserer Seite für Sie zu verbessern, bieten wir Ihnen eine einfacher zu navigierenden Seite an. Diese finden Sie unter der Web-Adresse www.audible.de/access.
Fear the Sky Hörbuch

Fear the Sky: The Fear Saga, Book 1

Regulärer Preis:38,95 €
  • Details zum Angebot:
    • 1 Hörbuch pro Monat
    • 30 Tage kostenlos testen
    • Dann 9,95 € pro Monat
    • Jederzeit kündbar
  • - oder -

Inhaltsangabe

"Real science in Science Fiction. This is a must read for fans of SF." >(John S. Gertsch, Amazon Reviewer)

Perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton, Iain M. Banks, and Orson Scott Card, Fear the Sky is a hard-hitting sci-fi thriller that will have you looking at the stars in a different way.

In eleven years' time, a million members of an alien race will arrive at Earth. Years before they enter orbit, their approach will be announced by the flare of a thousand flames in the sky, their ships' huge engines burning hard to slow them from the vast speeds needed to cross interstellar space. These foreboding lights will shine in our night sky like new stars, getting ever brighter until they outshine even the sun, casting ominous shadows and banishing the night until they suddenly blink out. Their technology is vastly superior to ours, and they know they cannot possibly lose the coming conflict. But they, like us, have found no answer to the destructive force of the atom, and they have no intention of facing the onslaught of our primitive nuclear arsenal or the devastation it would wreak on the planet they crave. So they have flung out an advance party in front of them, hidden within one of the countless asteroids randomly roaming the void. They do not want us, they want our planet. Their Agents are arriving.

©2014 Stephen Moss (P)2015 Podium Publishing

Hörerrezensionen

Bewertung

4.4 (187 )
5 Sterne
 (105)
4 Sterne
 (60)
3 Sterne
 (18)
2 Sterne
 (3)
1 Stern
 (1)
Gesamt
4.3 (179 )
5 Sterne
 (92)
4 Sterne
 (58)
3 Sterne
 (18)
2 Sterne
 (10)
1 Stern
 (1)
Geschichte
4.7 (180 )
5 Sterne
 (129)
4 Sterne
 (45)
3 Sterne
 (5)
2 Sterne
 (1)
1 Stern
 (0)
Sprecher
Sortiert nach:
  •  
    Nihaki 07.04.2016
    Nihaki 07.04.2016
    Mal mit
    „hilfreich“
    bewertet
    2
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    8
    1
    Mir folgen
    Ich folge
    0
    0
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Pure mental masturbation "

    Moss is a master chef who serves a perfectly balanced dish of geeky details and mind numbing action. This is what science fiction is all about.
    Bray's performance is impeccable. He deftly handles the many accents of the various characters, and excellently employs tempo shifts during the books many nerve wrenching sequences. You can tell he loves what he reads.

    Listening to this audio book resulted in a speeding ticket, involuntary shoplifting, and a missed flight. Totally worth it.

    2 von 2 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    grossergrinsel M™nchen, Deutschland 24.06.2015
    grossergrinsel M™nchen, Deutschland 24.06.2015
    Mal mit
    „hilfreich“
    bewertet
    18
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    24
    15
    Mir folgen
    Ich folge
    0
    0
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Langatmig"

    Eigentlich eine gute Geschichte aber der Autor schweift immer wieder in nicht enden wollenden Detailbeschreibungen ab, die das Hörvergnügen arg beeinträchtigen. Schade.

    6 von 9 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    Brian Roberts 10.08.2016
    Brian Roberts 10.08.2016
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    1
    1
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Wow"

    Ho-ly shit. What a cool story. So many details and filled with action and suspense. This audiobook is for anyone that likes apocalypse, aliens, robots, drama,military, action..I'm running out of nouns here. I'm sure you won't regret listening to this epic tale.

    0 von 0 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    Joachim Trodler Hamburg Germany 06.06.2016
    Joachim Trodler Hamburg Germany 06.06.2016
    Mal mit
    „hilfreich“
    bewertet
    1
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    25
    3
    Mir folgen
    Ich folge
    0
    0
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Enjoyable sci-fi spy thriller"

    Mix of sci-fi and spy thriller. Thoroughly enjoyed it. A fairly large number of characters, each narrated from first person sometimes make it hard to follow.

    0 von 0 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    Stefan dortmund, Deutschland 31.05.2016
    Stefan dortmund, Deutschland 31.05.2016
    Mal mit
    „hilfreich“
    bewertet
    28
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    119
    61
    Mir folgen
    Ich folge
    4
    1
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Fantastisches Buch, tolle Geschichte..."

    Sehr zu empfehlen, nicht nur für Sci-Fi-fans, da die Story komplett auf der Erde spielt und viele Elemente eines spannenden Krimis hat. super vorgetragen von R C Bray.

    0 von 0 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    M. Hallerbach Niederkassel, NRW 19.05.2016
    M. Hallerbach Niederkassel, NRW 19.05.2016

    MartinusExLulllesdorp

    Mal mit
    „hilfreich“
    bewertet
    9
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    13
    9
    Mir folgen
    Ich folge
    0
    0
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Perry Rhodan meets the 6 Million Dollar Man"

    ...using the general story line of Cixin Liu's "The Three Body Problem" as well as the sequel "The Dark Forest"
    Moss generally does a good job, but somehow this book (and it's sequels) comes across as a somewhat thin soup.
    Where Liu really wades throug deep scientific waters, Moss stays at the surface of it all.
    Liu's view of the sociological and economical impact of such a threat as pictured here is much more elaborate, again Moss stays a the surface.
    It is like, well, every time you expect, he is gaining some depth, he trails of.. and starts the action.
    He uses the story line (10 years where Liu covers 450 years!), to walk along just to place his favorites (Action) here and there and uses the rest to plot along.
    And so generally this book and it's brethrens lack some depth.
    Logical glitches, sometimes long stretching, slowly passages (Which are not bad because they are slowly but because they are.. hmm.. like molasses), ravaging action and overly detailed when it comes to action (fighting, may it be a dog fight between two, or mass mitlitary confrontations) makes listening to this/these book(s) somewhat painfull.
    Especially the logical flaws sometimes really hurt.
    There are a lot of characters, somehow none of them really gets three dimensional.
    It IS a book, which keeps you listening, anyway, so not totaly bad.
    But as with any thin soup, one is not really satisfied.
    The reader, Mr. Bray, does a quite good job, but does not distinguish himself from the lot of readers I have heard so far.
    So, this is fun to hear, but not satisfying in the end.
    I listend to Lius Books two times now, it may come to a third time or more, but i have no desire to repeat that with these books:
    See my comment on "Fear the Future"

    0 von 0 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    Ingo Guenther Windeck 22.04.2016
    Ingo Guenther Windeck 22.04.2016 Bei Audible seit 2011

    quiss42

    Mal mit
    „hilfreich“
    bewertet
    11
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    40
    9
    Mir folgen
    Ich folge
    0
    0
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "A story for fans of military SF, but not for me."

    The recommendation "Perfect for fans of [...] Iain M. Banks [...]" is as misleading as it can be. Instead of complex characters and an elaborate plot (which Banks stands for) it delivers straight forward action and bleak main characters.
    It has a clear focus on military action and - especially in the last third - excessive descriptions of fighting scenes - be it melee, fire arms or airborne. In addition, there are several plausibility glitches and in terms of Hard SF/Space Opera it's miles away from e.g. "The Three Body Problem" (by Cixin Liu) or "The Expanse" series (by James S. A. Corey).

    Though R.C. Bray does a good job bringing the characters to life, his drill sergeant intonation of the narrator is hard to get used to. It nevertheless fits well with the overall atmosphere of the story.

    This book may have its audience, but for me it was the first and last volume of "The Fear Saga".

    0 von 0 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    Amazon Kunde 18.04.2016
    Amazon Kunde 18.04.2016
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    2
    1
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "fantastic science fiction"

    fascinating and partially frightening plot introducing very interesting technological ideas. fewer plot twists than expected but nevertheless a fantastic book.

    0 von 0 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    T.Heermann Isernhagen, Deutschland 10.03.2016
    T.Heermann Isernhagen, Deutschland 10.03.2016
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    15
    10
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Gut und spannend!"

    Eine spannende Geschichte, gut erzählt. Viele Details lassen vermuten, dass der Autor sich - zumindest oberflächlich- in einige wissenschaftliche und militärische Bereiche eingelesen hat. Freue mich auf schon auf die Fortsetzung.

    0 von 0 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich

Missbrauch melden

Entspricht diese Rezension nicht unseren Richtlinien für Rezensionen oder ist in anderer Weise unzumutbar und sollte deshalb von unserer Website entfernt werden? Dann klicken Sie bitte auf "Bei Audible melden".

Abbrechen

Vielen Dank!

Wir werden die Rezension prüfen und das Nötige veranlassen.