Wir haben eine für Screen-Reader optimierte Seite erstellt. Um die Barrierefreiheit unserer Seite für Sie zu verbessern, bieten wir Ihnen eine einfacher zu navigierenden Seite an. Diese finden Sie unter der Web-Adresse www.audible.de/access.
Creativity, Inc. Hörbuch

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Regulärer Preis:21,95 €
  • Details zum Angebot:
    • 1 Hörbuch pro Monat
    • 30 Tage kostenlos testen
    • Dann 9,95 € pro Monat
    • Jederzeit kündbar
  • - oder -

Inhaltsangabe

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business - sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation - into the meetings, postmortems, and "Braintrust" sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture - but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, "an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible."

For nearly 20 years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner 30 Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired - and so profitable.

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a PhD student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie's success - and in the 13 movies that followed - was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

  • Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
  • If you don't strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
  • It's not the manager's job to prevent risks. It's the manager's job to make it safe for others to take them.
  • The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
  • A company's communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
  • Do not assume that general agreement will lead to change - it takes substantial energy to move a group, even when all are on board.

©2014 Ed Catmull and Amy Wallace (P)2014 Random House Audio

Kritikerstimmen

"Many have attempted to formulate and categorize inspiration and creativity. What Ed Catmull shares instead is his astute experience that creativity isn't strictly a well of ideas, but an alchemy of people. In Creativity, Inc. Ed reveals, with commonsense specificity and honesty, examples of how not to get in your own way and how to realize a creative coalescence of art, business, and innovation." (George Lucas)

"Business gurus love to tell stories about Pixar, but this is our first chance to hear the real story from someone who lived it and led it. Everyone interested in managing innovation - or just good managing - needs to read this book." (Chip Heath, co-author of Switch and Decisive)

Hörerrezensionen

Bewertung

4.5 (91 )
5 Sterne
 (63)
4 Sterne
 (17)
3 Sterne
 (7)
2 Sterne
 (3)
1 Stern
 (1)
Gesamt
4.7 (81 )
5 Sterne
 (63)
4 Sterne
 (9)
3 Sterne
 (9)
2 Sterne
 (0)
1 Stern
 (0)
Geschichte
4.5 (83 )
5 Sterne
 (60)
4 Sterne
 (13)
3 Sterne
 (5)
2 Sterne
 (3)
1 Stern
 (2)
Sprecher
Sortiert nach:
  •  
    Andreea Tolea 26.04.2015
    Andreea Tolea 26.04.2015
    Mal mit
    „hilfreich“
    bewertet
    2
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    9
    5
    Mir folgen
    Ich folge
    0
    0
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Great read"

    The narrator is so lovely which makes the story even more captivating. Couldn't stop listening to it. I appreciate the fact that it follows the evolution of creativity in good and bad times. That makes it real and a good source of learning.

    1 von 1 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    Falk 10.06.2014
    Falk 10.06.2014
    Mal mit
    „hilfreich“
    bewertet
    1
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    15
    1
    Mir folgen
    Ich folge
    0
    0
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Spannende Einblicke in die Entstehung von Pixar..."

    Wer schon immer wissen wollte, was hinter Pixar Animations steckt, gespickt mit vielen Annekdoten und Anregungen, wie man eine kreative Arbeitsatmosphäre aufbaut und aufrecht erhält.

    Die Art, in der das Buch geschrieben ist, ist dabei sehr Inspirierend und Peter Altschuler gibt dem ganzen einen fast schon großvätterlichen Touch, der dem Stoff einen sehr unterhaltsamen Anstrich gibt.

    Ich empfehle dieses Buch jedem, der einmal hinter die Kulissen von Pixar schauen möchte, aber auch jedem, der im täglichen Leben mit kreativen Teams arbeitet, bzw. sich Anregungen für die Organisation von Arbeitsstrukturen einholen möchte.

    Volle Punktzahl von mir!

    1 von 1 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    Anton Smirnov 06.11.2016
    Anton Smirnov 06.11.2016
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    8
    3
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "Magic"

    A hidden gem that deserves more attention. New insights for leaders, employees who want to improve their creativity, innovation and teamwork.

    0 von 0 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich
  •  
    Amazon Customer 29.09.2016
    Bewertungen
    Rezensionen
    16
    3
    Gesamt
    Sprecher
    Geschichte
    "meandering"

    This book delivers valid and important points.
    unfortunately it does so in an anecdotal, roundabout fashion. Add to this a Speaker who inflects regardless of context and it becomes really hard to listen to.
    A 1h abridged Version with a different Speaker would yield a good audiobook.

    0 von 1 Hörern fanden diese Rezension hilfreich

Missbrauch melden

Entspricht diese Rezension nicht unseren Richtlinien für Rezensionen oder ist in anderer Weise unzumutbar und sollte deshalb von unserer Website entfernt werden? Dann klicken Sie bitte auf "Bei Audible melden".

Abbrechen

Vielen Dank!

Wir werden die Rezension prüfen und das Nötige veranlassen.